Running on external SSD is so slow it's unuseable

Discussion in 'macOS Mojave (10.14)' started by shaunvis, Jul 20, 2019.

  1. shaunvis macrumors member

    shaunvis

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Location:
    Illinois
    #1
    I want to try the Catalina beta without messing up my primary drive.
    - I got a Samsung X5 external ssd. Performance is actually better then the internal on my new Mac mini
    - I cloned my drive to the SSD, booted off it.

    When running on the external SSD it's unusable slow. A lot of beachball. Opening an app can take minutes, etc.

    If I reformat the external drive & use it for data, I'm getting 1800MB write 2500MB read speeds. So I know the external drive is flying.

    Anyone see an issue like this or have any ideas?
     
  2. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #2
    VERY important questions:
    What Mac do you have, and what year was it made?

    An X5 will only work properly if your Mac has USB3 ports and thunderbolt3.
     
  3. dwig macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Location:
    Key West FL
    #3
    ,,.and if, and only if, you use a properly working USB3 cable.
     
  4. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #4
    The X5 is a Thunderbolt device. It requires a Thunderbolt cable.
     
  5. dwig macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Location:
    Key West FL
    #5
    whoops, my bad.

    Again, though, the cable can be an issue as TB3 shares the same USB-C connector as USB. If the USB-C cable used lacks TB3 support the computer's port will fall back to working at USB-3 or USB-2 speeds, depending on the cable and and the device. If the X5 also is able to fall back to USB data transfer then using the wrong cable can be the cause. Using a cable like Apple's charging cable supplied with most (all?) USB-C charging devices will only handle USB-2 data speeds.
     
  6. chabig macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #6
    The drive ships with one. Presumably he is using it.
     
  7. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #7
    I would assume so as well, since it was being used successfully as a data disk. Chances are not small that this is a Catalina bug.
     
  8. chabig macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #8
    Wouldn’t the machine see this as a new system? If so it could be normal housekeeping/indexing that will be complete in a day or two.
     
  9. shaunvis thread starter macrumors member

    shaunvis

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Location:
    Illinois
    #9
    Yep, USB-C with the cable that came with it.

    I just bought the Mini a few days ago but it has a 256GB drive. My plan was to use the X5 & have 1TB and just boot & run off that.

    Like I said, when using the internal drive, the X5 flies. Speed tests show it actually a few hundred MB faster than the internal drive. Cloning my internal SSD of about 120GB (Photos just grabs as much as it can on a fresh install) takes only a few minutes.

    I haven't even got to Catalina yet. I'm just cloning a fresh install of Mojave from the internal SSD to the X5 and booting off that. It boots, I log in, then it's a total dog. Like I can open Safari, enter a URL, and it beachballs for a few minutes. It doesn't seem like the usual slowness while indexing, it's REALLY bad.

    I'm beginning to wonder if I have an issue with the Mini. I can't even install Catalina on it with just the internal SSD. I run the installer, it reboots, the progress bar moves maybe 1/8 of the way and then it just freezes. I even let it go overnight and was still in the same place in the morning.
    --- Post Merged, Jul 20, 2019 ---
    About the only other thing I can think of is maybe RAM. It only came with 4GB. I've got 16GB ready to install but was foiled by damned security torx screws instead of regular ones. Waiting on Amazon to deliver a driver set.

    Maybe I'll get lucky & it will be fine with 16GB
     
  10. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #10
    8GB is the minimum the Mini ships with. If you’re only seeing 4, you’ve got something wrong.
    Have you tried installing an operating system to the external, vs. cloning an OS to it?
     
  11. shaunvis thread starter macrumors member

    shaunvis

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Location:
    Illinois
    #11
    Yep! I just confirmed that. I opened it up to install my 16GB and saw it had 2 4GB chips in it.

    I popped in the 2 8GB ships I had, fired it up, Catalina finished installing to the X5 and seemed to be working fine. I checked the system and it's only seeing 8GB.

    So looks like I definitely have an issue with this Mac. First time I ever bought a defective Apple product. Lame....
     

Share This Page

10 July 20, 2019