Running only two applications and its using almost 4gb of RAM

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by fstigre, Aug 19, 2009.

  1. fstigre macrumors regular

    fstigre

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    #1
    Hi,

    I'm a little impressed with the memory usage in my MacBook. I'm currently having problems running Adobe Lightroom, it runs too slow and I decided to go and check my Activity Monitor and I'm impressed how little memory I have left after running Lightroom, it shows 389.24MB as free system memory out of 4gb, and I'm only running Lightroom and Firefox.

    Is this normal?

    Is there some sort of maintenance that I should be doing in a regular bases to my mac?

    I'm currntly using MacJanitor for maintenace puposes?

    Is there a tool (application) that I could use to improve performance in a mac?


    http://tu-design.com/Images/activityMonitor.jpg

    Thanks
     
  2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #2
    I don't think you're reading the numbers correctly. The inactive memory isn't being used and will be refilled as necessary. Now, it does look like the swap file has been used, but only a tiny amount (3.46MB of swap ins). So it doesn't really look like memory is your limiting factor right now....
     
  3. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #3
    IIRC, the "inactive" RAM can be considered free.

    It's sort of like RAM that was used by a program, but isn't anymore...but is acting like a cache....sort of. If you run out of "free" memory the system should start digging in to that "inactive" catagory.

    Either way, I'd consider that 1.5-1.6GB free.

    Edit: Darnit, mkrishnan got in his response first! :p
     
  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
  5. fstigre thread starter macrumors regular

    fstigre

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    #5
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    Sorry, not for purchasing memory, for explaining when you don't have enough.... ;)
     
  7. fstigre thread starter macrumors regular

    fstigre

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    #7
    So you think 4GB is not enough? It is actually the max I can have.
     
  8. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #8
    Did you read any of the above posts? No, we both said we did not think your memory was the issue, because you aren't running out of memory, because you didn't read the memory information in the profiler correctly....

    The Guide explains how to determine when you need more memory, which by extension, also addresses when you do not need more memory.
     
  9. fstigre thread starter macrumors regular

    fstigre

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    #9
    Thanks!

    Now, is there a program that I could use to maintain my Mac running smooth (as of today).
     
  10. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
  11. fstigre thread starter macrumors regular

    fstigre

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008

Share This Page