Running OS X Lion on the 2012 Mini - possible?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by pkh540, Feb 7, 2013.

  1. pkh540 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Washington
    #1
    I have a specific need to run Lion natively (not as a VM). Has anyone been able to install Lion on the new Mini or can Lion only run on 2011 or older models? Realize there may be an issue with drivers for the newer chipset or on board graphics, but maybe there is a hack available?

    (I've been running Lion via Parallels on my MBP but cannot enlarge the screen without it getting fuzzy which defeats the purpose. So am considering a Mini and would prefer the newer one but only if I can install and run Lion natively.)

    Thanks!
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    No, as Mac OS X 10.7 Lion lacks the drivers for late 2012 Macs.

    What is that specific need, maybe someone can help you with that?
     
  3. pkh540 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Washington
    #3
    is there a way to copy the newer drivers into Lion? Or perhaps some other work around?

    -----
    As to why the need (and thanks for asking), I hired a developer to create an app for me but had to let him go. He wrote it using XCode 4.3.3 (which will only run on Lion) and there are too many issues to update it to Xcode 5.x.

    I purchased the new MBP and can no longer access the code unless I use a Parallels VM to run Lion but when I do, I cannot enlarge the window as it causes whatever is being displayed to get fuzzy. (XCode is not pretty when it is fuzzy... especially as I am not a coder although I have managed to hack together a Lite version of my app which was approved yesterday.)

    Shameless plug but here's a link - It's a story that helps parents talk to their kids about teasing and bullying.)
     
  4. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #4
    No.
    There is no XCode 5. Are you sure you have your versions correct? Seems like your app has major issues if you can't get it to work in a current version of XCode. This is sure to cause issues somewhere else down the road.


    I don't use Parallels but use VMWare Fusion to virtualize Lion occasionally. There are video drivers in Fusion which allow you to change the resolution of the virtual machine, and can even run in a full screen mode. I'm sure Parallels has a similar option. Have you installed the proper drivers?
     
  5. pkh540 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Washington
    #5
    Thanks chrfr! I will see if there's a way to change the resolution in Parallels... I'm running v7 so perhaps I need to upgrade to v8.

    Sorry I misspoke, I meant 4.5. Please know that I am not a coder. When I build and run using XCode 4.5 on an iPad running iOS 6.x or the simulator, the screen is rotated 90 CW. (Building with 4.3.3 works fine on iOS 5.1 and above as designed.)

    I know there was a change made with iOS 6 and have tried several different suggestions I found on stackoverflow. I had a developer friend look at the code and it seems the original developer did something funky with how he displays to the screen. :mad: It's fixable but will require $'s which are a little short right now.

    For now, all is fine provided I stay on 4.3.3... and subsequently OS X Lion.

    Thanks again,
     

Share This Page