running parallels after bootcamp?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by bmms8, Jun 29, 2009.

  1. bmms8 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    #1
    hello i just installed boot camp on my machine. i didnt think i would need to run both osx and xp at the same time but parallels is looking good to me right now. since i already installed xp via boot camp, can i just download parallels from their site and be able to run both os's at the same time, i could not find this information on their site, thanks!
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Yes, you can use an existing Boot Camp partition with Parallels.
     
  3. DamnDJ macrumors regular

    DamnDJ

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #3
    It has been my experience that Parallels will have auto added your bootcamp partition into its listing of VMs when you first launch it.

    It should work flawlessly.
     
  4. palmharbor macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #4
    Flawlessly?

    Nothing about Parallels is Flawless except the cash I gave the store to buy it. Its filled with more bugs than any software I have ever bought. Registration is confusing at best. It cannot see WIN xp even though
    it is on the HD. Then you put it in again and now I am getting another
    error. This software is ****.
     
  5. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #5
    In addition to Parallels, you can consider VMware Fusion or VirtualBox (free)
    Parallels and Fusion both have free trials so you can try them out and decide

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  6. NovemberWhiskey macrumors 68030

    NovemberWhiskey

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    #6
    I downloaded and installed:

    VMware Fusion
    Parallels
    Virtual Box

    I already made a bootcamp partition with Windows 7 RC.

    I launched Vmware first and it detected the bootcamp partition and everything launched flawlessly.

    I could not get Parallels or Virtualbox to detect the bootcamp partition. They keep asking me to insert the Windows7 DVD.

    Any help?
     

Share This Page