Running Quickbooks

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by CRK17, Dec 4, 2008.

  1. CRK17 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    #1
    I need to run the Windows version of Quickbooks on my Intel iMac due to compatibility issues with my accountant’s office software. Since this is the only Windows based software I plan on using on the iMac what would be the best way to run the software? I need to be able to go back and forth between the Quickbooks and other software which will be operating under OS 10.5. The three options I see are Bootcamp, VM or Parallels.

    Also now that I’ll have windows on the iMac do I need to be concerned with Virus protection?


    Thanks
    CRK17
     
  2. Keleko macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #2
    You could use Virtual Box, too. For Quickbooks all you need is some virtual machine way of running Windows. Virtual Box, VMWare or Parallels are all fine for that. Virtual Box has the benefit of being free, but it doesn't have the ability to appear seamless like VMWare and Parallels can. You can try all of them out before you pick the one to buy.

    You probably should use anti-virus, but if you're not going to be browsing with the Windows install, it isn't as likely you'll get something on it. The answer depends on how much risk you think you'll have on getting infected on Windows. I know people that never run AV on their Windows systems because they're careful enough that their infection risk is minimal. AV won't necessarily stop or help all infections, either. Some of the worst malware isn't detected by a majority of the AV software out there (look up Sinowal and how well it can be detected).
     
  3. chrisandersen macrumors 6502

    chrisandersen

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    #3
    I was in the same boat. Tried QB for mac and it sucks. I have had 0 problems with this setup:
    VM fusion with XP home edition. Make sure you have 4mb RAM installed and give windows about 1/2 of that.
     
  4. Keleko macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #4
    I think you mean 4GB of RAM. I haven't had a system with 4mb of RAM since the early 90's. :)
     
  5. CRK17 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    #5
    How bad

    Chrisandersen,

    Do you run any antivirus software with the VM and Quickbooks? I figure I'll need to since I'll be sending files to my account at least twice a year. Other than that I won't be using the Windows side for any internet use.
     

Share This Page