Running steam mass effect 1 on bootcamp - major mouse lag and performance issues

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by saladfingers, Dec 30, 2010.

  1. saladfingers, Dec 30, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2010

    saladfingers macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    #1
    Hey there, after playign the demo of ME2 on my ps3 and loving it, I decided to buy ME1 in the steam holiday sale for a fiver, but i can't play it without an awful lagging mouse.

    I have a macbook pro late 2009 15-inch 2.53Ghz core 2 duo with 4gb of ram and have windows 7 64-bit installed on it.

    The opening cinematic was dreadfully stuttery and slow when i first opened it and there is a large lag on mouse input, it happens with the trackpad and also when i use an external mouse. I have turned the sensitivity all the way up and stuff but it makes no difference, I really want to play this game but the lag will make it really hard in actiony sequences :(

    I updated my nvidia drivers (9400m) and have turned all the settings on the nvidia control panel and in the game to the lowest possible but there is still a tonne of lag. This also happens if i try to play oblivion by the way.

    Is it because of this Geforce 9400m video card? Is it just all around rubbish for 3d games or is there something that can be done to help with the bad performance? Does bootcamp always give bad performance with 3d games? I figure that this can't be the case and this problem must be (fairly) unique to me because looking at this guys post http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=493366, playing mass effect with a 2006 imac, he gets great performance with full video settings, although he has a radeon 1600x or something card. There is also a thread that i saw with games Am i stuffed or is there some trick to optimising my set up?

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=904957 This thread shows new games running really well on the newer 13-inch mbp's, i know they have better processers / video cards in but surely it doesn't make THAT much difference and i should be able to play games fine?

    Sorry for banging on, hopefully someone can help me though, cheers! :)
     
  2. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #2
    The 9400M, while a decent little IGP, isn't really suited to playing games such as Mass Effect or Oblivion.
     
  3. saladfingers thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    #3
    Sad face :(
     
  4. Max. macrumors member

    Max.

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #4
    You can still try lowering Screen Resolution and other Graphics Options to improve performance if you haven't already.

    EDIT: I just saw you already have. Sorry!
     
  5. Bacong macrumors 68000

    Bacong

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Location:
    Westland, Michigan
  6. HawtTuna macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    #6
    Try verifying the files. Mass Effect 2 was really glitchy before I did that and I had to redownload some files and it worked fine after that. Maybe it'll solve your problem with Mass Effect 1.

    Also, doesn't your MacBook have the 9600 as well? If so trying using that.
     
  7. soLoredd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #7
    I concur, you should be using your 9600 rather than the 9400. I have a 2008 MBP with the 8600 and I just played through ME1 (finally!) on full settings without issue.
     
  8. WannerooParkour macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    #8
    Mass effect running slow on what should be capable machine

    Hi guys, I tried to find a thread that was already open and fairly relative to my question.

    I was running Mass effect 1 perfectly on a NVIDIA 9600GT.

    Ive recently changed over to a bigger harddrive, reinstalled mass effect, drivers, directx. everything.

    But now it seems the game wont use the video card and it runs sluggishly, even on the lowest settings.

    I tried buying another card, Radeon HD5670. Same issue.

    What I dont get is that Crysis runs perfect on the machine still, so i assume there is some sort of problem the mass effect game, rather than my system.

    Any help???


    Thanks
     
  9. Bacong macrumors 68000

    Bacong

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Location:
    Westland, Michigan
  10. lewdvig macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Location:
    South Pole
  11. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #11
    Those games might be playable, but most people probably don't want to use minimum settings with a substandard resolution.
     
  12. lewdvig macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Location:
    South Pole
    #12
    Then they need to buy a different computer. If they can live with lower settings they can use what they have.

    F3 was tested at 800p what res should he play on his 800p notebook?
     

Share This Page