Running two or three 30" ACDs on a MBP. Possible?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by sparkie7, Feb 15, 2009.

  1. sparkie7 macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #1
  2. mogzieee macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
    Possible. Don't know how well though, I've only ever connected my MBP to a 32" Panasonic LCD TV.
     
  3. sparkie7 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #3
    just to clarify I have a late 2008 0ct 17 MBP alu with full DVI port :D
     
  4. Niiro13 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Location:
    Illinois
    #4
    I don't doubt it can work...I think the only problem before was finding a box that had the connectors.

    Our school uses VGA splitters with like five-year-old computers and their integrated graphics...so with a dedicated GPU, I'm sure there's enough power to drive the monitors.
     
  5. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #5
    Since you have cash to burn you can use the expressbox which is sort of like the solution above except you will have to spring for the expressbox2 which will run about 1700 dollars, but with more flexibility as far as what card(s) you want, and can daisy chain.

    http://www.magma.com/products/pciexpress/expressbox2/index.html
     
  6. sparkie7 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #6
    that looks V interesting. Its quite an expensive route. As you have to buy cards on top. any idea which cards would be suitable to drive the 30 ACD.

    So two cards, + one internal ==> to run 3x30 ACDs

    Also, is it possible to get PCI cards with RAM on them, and PCI SSD drive cards?
     
  7. PeterQC macrumors 6502a

    PeterQC

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #7
    SSD yes. Ram not so much, as the system need a really fast access to it, more then what an express card can give.
     
  8. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #8
    No you can't. Not enough bandwidth on the video.
     
  9. sparkie7 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #9
    Errr, what are you referring to? Please clarify
     

Share This Page