Running VMware Infrastructure Client on your Mac

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by robbith, Dec 5, 2008.

  1. robbith macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #1
    Hi All. I've been reading these forums for a while now and I decided I would try to contribute a little :)

    I found that the only reason I needed to fire up windows was to run the VMware Infrastructure Client, so I decided to find out if there was an alternative way of doing this.

    Unfortunately ESXi doesn't provide an Infrastructure Web Interface, so it appears the only way to do this is to run the Windows Client.

    I ended up setting up a virtual 2003 server, which can 'stream' the infrastructure client to your mac using rdesktop seamlessly. This was exactly what I needed. An icon which I double click on, and the Infrastructure client launches.

    The only issues are that because the client isn't actually running on your Mac, you cannot connect devices such as CD-Rom or FDD. This isn't a huge deal for me as my ESX server has access to an NFS share which has all the images sitting in it.

    I have written up a guide on how I went about setting this up. Unfortunately I wrote this up in Word so I only have it in PDF format, no HTML. Hopefully it will help some of you out there who are sick of loading up fusion JUST to use one application.

    You can find it here: http://rob.sprinkspt.com.au/infrastructure-osx.pdf

    Anyway - thanks to you all, this forum has saved me several times since I became a Mac user.

    Cheers, Rob.
     
  2. mhedhli macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    #2
    Thanks

    Thanks for the effort!

     
  3. mowry macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2002
    #3
    Thanks, Rob!
     
  4. homa2001 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    #4
    How do you control the geometry of the x11 window?
    I run 3 monitors and it makes my 'window' like 7000 px wide. If I try to use the -g option i get an error that it's not compatible with -A option.
     
  5. homa2001 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    #5
    I guess I spoke too soon. It makes my window 7000 pixels wide while logging in into windows, but then presents a proper size VI3 login window and after login to that it creates a normal size VI center window which can even be resized.

    It's just annoying that it does that during login, otherwise it's awesome. Tx for the tip. Hopefully they'll release a native client soon.

    PS. I just installed the client on the VI3 admin server and use it instead of creating a dedicated VM for that. Seems a bit odd to use a VM to manage ESX especially if you are having problems with that ESX host.
     
  6. boolean2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #6
    I just ran into this page from a search on google.
    I registered for these forums to say Thank You!

    Trying this out now. I had been trying to come-up with a similar solution for weeks.

    Thanks!
     
  7. 1ne macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    Canada Oil Country
  8. carmaa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    #8
  9. tcador macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #9
    Wow that's great, thanks for your effort on this!
     
  10. carmaa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    #10
    One important caveat though - you'll still need to manage (power on/off, change settings etc.) your VMs through the VI client (on ESX(i)) or the web interface (VMware Server). But the remote desktop bit is definitively smoother than through virtualization of the Windows VI client.

    Also, I don't know if it's possible to install avahi on ESXi. Does anyone know if this is possible?
     

Share This Page