Running Windows on a Mac for gaming.

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by nerosamurai, May 9, 2009.

  1. nerosamurai macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    #1
    Hello everyone, I'm new to the forums. I'm using a 17" Macbook Pro, and recently I've thought about running Windows via Bootcamp to play Fallout 3. I have Fallout on X-Box, but I really want to download some mods, plus it would be awesome to play it on the go. So I guess my question is where would I start, and is it worth it. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #2
    You can try Crossover Games. It runs windows games in a mac environment fairly well. :)
     
  3. nerosamurai thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    #3
    I've heard of crossover games in passing but I don't know much about it. Could I still download mods?
     
  4. pixelated macrumors 6502a

    pixelated

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #4
    If you want to play games, definitely install windows via bootcamp. I'm running XP, and only using windows for games.
    For ultimate portability, download Steam, where you can purchase and download games (including fallout 3). You can still mod the game the same as you would a hard copy, but you don't need to have the disc to play.
     
  5. nerosamurai thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    #5
    Cool, so I should use Bootcamp with XP, then get the game via steam or some other way. What about Vista wouldn't I have to use it, or is it still possible to purchase XP.
     
  6. LtRammstein macrumors 6502a

    LtRammstein

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #6
    Forget XP, it's a dead OS.

    Get Vista 64-bit for your gaming, and games tend to run very well on it.
     
  7. nerosamurai thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    #7
    Is the 64-bit Vista really worth the money? I'm trying to do this on the cheap.
     
  8. johny5 macrumors 6502a

    johny5

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    64-bit windows 7 RC1 then, you cant get cheaper than that?
    I have heard it runs games that vista didnt (ie GTA vice)
     
  9. runebinder macrumors 6502a

    runebinder

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #9
    I've tried Win 7 on the MBP and although it runs games, the sound kept disappearing, have put XP on instead and don't have that issue.
     
  10. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #10

    64-bit, welcome to 2007. Honestly go for Win7 x64. You can get it here. It's free and works better than Vista (which works better than XP). XP is a dinosaur. Whatever you do, do NOT run Windows in a virtual machine (i.e., VMWare).

    And you didn't bother trying to install the newest sound driver? (which is easily obtainable from here: http://www.realtek.com/downloads/downloadsView.aspx?Langid=1&PNid=24&PFid=24&Level=4&Conn=3&DownTypeID=3&GetDown=false)
     
  11. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #11
    Now that Win7 is out, there is no need for either XP or Vista. If you can get Win7 RC running acceptably in bootcamp, it is your best bet for gaming.
     
  12. gatepc macrumors 6502

    gatepc

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    Pittsburgh PA
    #12
    Don't get vista! even with it's newest service packs and updates it has far worse performance in games! if you want something newer then xp wait for windows 7 it looks promising. ( make sure you get windows xp 64 bit if you have 4GB's of ram or more )

    ( proof ) http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/xp-vs-vista,1531-4.html
     
  13. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #13
    Fallout 3 has audio problems in Win7 even with the latest drivers, at least for me and others.
    (hilariously, when trying to obtain said drivers I couldn't go through Realtek's website because it doesn't work in Windows browsers - IE, Firefox, or Chrome - but it seems to work in Safari in OS X. LOL.)
     
  14. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #14

    Something is seriously wrong with your installation then because I've never had trouble getting driver from their site with several builds of Windows 7, Vista x64, or even XP using Firefox, IE, or Safari. Hell, I've installed Windows 7 on several other computers (both Mac and user-built) and didn't have any trouble getting them on those computers either.

    Also, I didn't see a single post about audio issues with Fallout 3 on the SevenForums link you posted (yeah, I visit there a lot too). Try this link instead, it's the first one at the top (High Definition Audio Codecs (Software)).
     
  15. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #15
    Nothing is wrong. I just installed it this weekend and have barely touched it. I was using Chrome and their site kept bugging me that it wasn't compatible with it. I opened up whatever version of IE comes with the RC but their links still didn't work (just redirected me to a previous page). Maybe they were just having problems that day.

    You can search the thread, a few people mention it like this and this post. I was just warning the OP that the problem exists. Seems some haven't had any issues though.
     

Share This Page