Running Windows on MBA's 128 GH SSD

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by GreyMatter22, Feb 20, 2014.

1. GreyMatter22 macrumors newbie

Running Windows on MBA's 128 GB* SSD [Sorry for the typo]

I am planning to buy the MBA, and plan on being with this laptop way into the future. I say this as I'll be coming from a $250 basic Acer Desktop which lasted 6 years.

Knowing this and by taking everyone's advice, I'll get the 8 GB RAM on it, however the laptop offers only 128 SSD.

My use is to surf the web on multiple tabs, YouTube, run Civilization 5, or similar games, student work, downloading and streaming all sorts of movies and TV shows.

Also as I am a Financial Economics student, there might come a time (and it is close) that some financial software might not be compatible with Mac, so I would run windows along with Mac's OSX on the MBA.

My question is that is 128 Gig memory sufficient to handle two different operating systems? I will buy an external hard drive, but is MBA with only such limited memory and a lower processing speed capable of handling both side by side?

This scenario is purely speculation, but I should know my options knowing that I am investing a little north of a grand.

The dude at the Apple store told me to just to go with the non-retina Macbook Pro, and I could run Windows anytime I want smoothly due to higher speed and memory.

I believe non-retina MBP does not run the civilization 5 I believe, is this true?

All in all, should I stick with the MBA's 128 SSD or is the older MBP a safer option?

And rMBP or the upgraded MBA with more memory isn't an option for me due to monetary reasons.

2. robvas macrumors 68020

You will want more than 128GB if you plan on running Windows + Mac OS X

3. Yaboze macrumors 6502a

Yaboze

128GB is going to be very tight for both OSX and Windows. I'm sure it's doable, but there's not going to be much room left for apps.

4. Dweez macrumors 65816

Dweez