running windows, Which is best?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by xtempo, Apr 1, 2014.

  1. xtempo macrumors 6502

    xtempo

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    #1
    I am interested in trying to run windows (only from 95 to Win 2000, possibly Win98)

    the sole purpose is to play Curse of Monkey Island so which machine that I have would be the best to play it?

    Powerbook G4 1.5 Ghz 1Gb memory (max out since 2Gb doesn't work anymore) VGA: ATY,RV360M11
    http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/powerbook_g4/specs/powerbook_g4_1.5_15.html

    PowerMac G4 Quicksilver 733Mhz 256mb memory (will max out to 1.5Gb) VGA: GeForce2 MX
    http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/emac/specs/emac_800.html


    eMac 800Mhz 1Gb memory (max out)
    http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/emac/specs/emac_800.html


    PowerMac G5 1.6Ghz 3G bmemory (will max out at 4Gb) VGA:GeForce FX 5200
    http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/powermac_g5/specs/powermac_g5_1.6.html

    If needed I can eventually upgrade the PowerMac G4 and G5 in memory and also graphics card if needed.

    I don't think the PBG4 and the eMac would be good for emulation but I don't know. This is my first try with running windows on a mac and I mainly want play old games so no OS above Win2000.
     
  2. harrymatic macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    For CMI, ditch Windows altogether and run it in ScummVM - the latest version still even supports OS X 10.2! (http://scummvm.org/) It will run on pretty much anything.

    For other games, either use Windows 98SE in VirtualPC, or for really old stuff use DOSBox. Your G4 Power Mac with not much RAM might struggle a bit, everything else will run these fine.
     
  3. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #3
    Assuming you are aware that this has to be emulated and that the only emulators available are the forgotten "Q" and the discontinued Virtual PC 7 then ALWAYS go with the faster processor and most amount of ram you can get.

    If it helps, I can run WinXP SP3 on a G5 1.8ghz with 4GB of ram and all the eye candy turned off and it runs OK under VPC 7. I can never get Q to work, it always crashes so I can't speak to it. Even on this Mac I would not use anything intensive. Maybe your game would be ok, IDK. Part of the problem, at least with VPC 7 is that it maxes out at about 512mb of ram for the virtual machine. However, you have to find somewhere in the middle. Because for some odd reason, more is not more. Give it too much and it runs poor. Too little and it runs poor. A good balance is somewhere around 384mb of ram.

    Note that the emulator should be the ONLY app you are running when you want to do this. VPC 7 is resource hungry.
     
  4. jrsx macrumors 65816

    jrsx

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Location:
    Tacoma, Washington
    #4
    DO NOT USE Q!!!
    VPC7 is much better from what I've heard, and being a former Q user, I can tell you. It's not good. :)
    I installed Windows XP SP1, and it only took my about 8 hours. Bootup time was close to 11 minutes, and just a simple startup noise was distorted and laggy. A click on the start menu took up all of 1 minute. Upon trying Ubuntu 4.04, it took several hours to install, and then crashed, and wouldn't boot up. It's only good for DSL, and it lags, even there.
     
  5. xtempo thread starter macrumors 6502

    xtempo

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    #5
    I suppose it would be easier having an old win machine around then but I was hoping to switch to having apple instead. And only have a win machine for my HTPC.
     
  6. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #6
    I get you. But some things are just better done on their native platforms.

    I have a 1.73Ghz QS with 1.5GB of ram and I ran my PC copy of Eye of the Beholder in a DOS setup on VPC7. Four stinking 1.4mb floppies is all that game is, but it runs like a turtle. Not really much you can say.
     
  7. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #7
    This. Totally no reason to run Windows for this. I've played CMI in OS X with this tool, ran perfectly!
     
  8. xtempo thread starter macrumors 6502

    xtempo

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    #8
    I am having trouble understanding and using ScummVM. I don't get how to copy from the CD or do I run off the CD in order to play the game?
     
  9. harrymatic macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #9
    It should be as simple as copying the data files from the original CD into a folder on your hard drive, and then selecting that folder from the Add Game button in ScummVM.
     
  10. xtempo thread starter macrumors 6502

    xtempo

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    #10
    it seems to work so far. I try playing it later. thanks for the help:D
     

Share This Page