RX 580 vs R9 280X on Mac Pro 4.1/5.1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by turluttu, Oct 12, 2018.

  1. turluttu macrumors member

    turluttu

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Location:
    Moscow
    #1
    Hi everyone!

    I would like to share test results from two video cards. Connected display resolution 2K.

    And so we look at the results:

    1. Sapphire Radeon RX 580 Pulse 8 GB
    2. Sapphire Radeon R9 280X Toxic 3 GB

    Screen Shot 2018-10-12 at 16.02.22.png Screen Shot 2018-10-12 at 15.39.35.png
    Geekbench v4.2.3
    Screen Shot 2018-10-12 at 16.04.25.png Screen Shot 2018-10-12 at 15.37.11.png
    Screen Shot 2018-10-12 at 16.05.34.png Screen Shot 2018-10-12 at 15.38.34.png

    LuxMark v3.1
    Screen Shot 2018-10-12 at 16.10.21.png Screen Shot 2018-10-12 at 15.42.30.png
    Unigine Valley Benchmark v1.0
    Screen Shot 2018-10-12 at 16.34.15.png Screen Shot 2018-10-12 at 16.45.23.png
    Final Cut Pro X v10.4.3
    BruceX Test - 5K - Apple ProRes 422


    11 Sec
    and
    22 Sec

    I think R9 280X is still a good card with support for EFI firmware, don't you think?
    You can also offer another application to test the video card, but not Cinebench.







     
  2. turluttu thread starter macrumors member

    turluttu

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Location:
    Moscow
  3. orph macrumors 68000

    orph

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    the gap gets bigger with the memory timings updated, id like to see a comparison in resolve 15 but im not shore how to best do it :oops:
    i did some playing in windows and saw over 6GB vram used in one of my projects, just simple 4K with some color corrections and a few re timed shots and stabilization but no fancy stuff
    export times seem vary GPU dependent to,
     

    Attached Files:

  4. turluttu thread starter macrumors member

    turluttu

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Location:
    Moscow
    #4
    Did your test show more, did you touch the values in the BIOS of the card?
     
  5. orph macrumors 68000

    orph

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    after some looking on google i think my CPU is to slow to max out the gpu when exporting and/or my source files being h264 may be holding back my speeds in resolve 15. ill try different source files later to see if there's any gains in speed/gpu utilization.
    Screen Shot 2018-10-12 at 4.44.49 pm.png

    saw this topic, https://egpu.io/forums/pro-applicat...c-pro-18-core-with-amd-vega-frontier-edition/
    the gpu is being maxed out with an new imac which has a much much stronger CPU.
    i can still max out the gpu in timeline by layering gpu effects but it's not something i do in real life so feels tad silly

    yep bios, just a slight down clock and the auto mem timings tweak (uber 3.1 i think)
    https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/sapphire-pulse-rx580-8gb-vbios-study.2133607/
    but warning bios flash may brake/brick things, my card was used with a mining bios on it so i had to flash.
     
  6. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #6
    And the gap will be huge if make both card draw the same power.

    The 280X looks like comparable to the RX580 because they draw much more power.
     

Share This Page

5 October 12, 2018