RX580 connection

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by carambo, Jan 13, 2018.

  1. carambo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    #1
    Hello, didn't find clear answer on this : I will install a new RX580 8gb Pulse in my 2010 cMP, for the time being I have only a 6pin to 8pin cable, do I really need 2x6 pin to 8pin in order to ensure power supply or can I go safely with a single 6 to 8pin cable ?
    Txs
     
  2. StuAff macrumors regular

    StuAff

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #2
    Yes, if you have an 8-pin connector on the GPU, it needs two 6-pin connections from the Mac. Otherwise it might be OK under light loads, but it won't be any time it's working hard.
     
  3. carambo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
  4. Teddy Leung macrumors newbie

    Teddy Leung

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    Welcome, because i want to get one RX 580 too, but cannot found in my city... so poor. where did you get this graphic card ?
     
  5. carambo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    #6
    In Switzerland : https://www.ldlc.ch/fiche/PB00227412.html
     
  6. Teddy Leung macrumors newbie

    Teddy Leung

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
    Graphic card very high price this moment... in the world....
     
  7. carambo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
  8. CrazyNurse macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    #9
    I recently found some in stock on Newegg ordered and delivered. It was out of stock soon after that. $350USD. flee-bay is selling them for many times higher (used mining cards).
     
  9. Teddy Leung macrumors newbie

    Teddy Leung

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #10
    Which brand you order ?
     
  10. CrazyNurse macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    #11
    It was the Sapphire Pulse 8GB
     
  11. Teddy Leung, Jan 15, 2018
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2018

    Teddy Leung macrumors newbie

    Teddy Leung

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Location:
    Hong Kong
  12. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #14
    I think you post in the wrong place. Here is not the PM :eek:

    Anyway, cable combination is not an issue, it's not necessary to use a "single cable". I am also using cables combination

    dual mini 6pin -> single 6 -> dual 6+2

    No issue at all.
     
  13. Teddy Leung macrumors newbie

    Teddy Leung

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #15
    thanks.
     

Share This Page