RX580 - Metal card - Nitro+ install experience.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by thepawn, Aug 7, 2018.

  1. thepawn macrumors 6502

    thepawn

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    #1
    This is spread across a few threads and some websites, but I'm hoping that if someone runs into the same things I did they might match this post on a search quickly and save themselves some time.

    TL;DR important notes for the NITRO+ RX580 card:
    • It works.
    • Get 6PIN+6PIN (150W max) -> 8PIN , ignore the second 6PIN on the graphics card. If you use single 6PIN->8PIN (75Watts Max) or a 2SATA -> 8PIN (108Watts Max) you'll be able to drive the card but the system will freeze at when it hits the point that the card wants more power going into "safety" mode. The card actually may still under heavy load as it's "overclocked" RX580 and articles I've found said it can pull up to around 210W at full load - this will require a supplemental power, which is easy to add externally and I might do so in the future anyway. I just don't game much at the moment.
    • Make sure your cables are DP1.4 or HDMI 2.0b
    The full story:

    I have a Mac Pro 4,1 EFI'd up to a 5,1.

    I had a Gigabyte Radeon 6870 GV-R6870C-1GD card hooked up via minidisplay port to displayport cables to a Dell 3415 and a Dell 2815 (4k) display. The 6870 required two mini-6PIN to 6PIN power cables. No idea how I was driving 4k out of it when it's not listed in the specs.

    I bought a Sapphire Nitro+ RX580 (not the Pulse RX580) card. This card has 2xDP, 2xHDMI, 1xDVI and had a 8PIN power and 6PIN power connector on it.

    OS:
    Nothing to do. Like any non-Mac EFI card, you won't see the gray apple boot screen. Eventually the login window pops up.

    POWER:
    The manual for the card is rubbish. It stated the 6PIN was "optional" and didn't state that you needed to drive main power through the primary 8PIN connector. If you have two seperate 6PIN cables like I did you'll need to get a dual 6PIN to 8PIN adaptor and plug it into only the 8PIN port...don't bother with the optional. If only do one 6PIN to 8PIN convertor and plug the other 6PIN into the secondary port, you'll still experience issues of not enough power. (each 6PIN plug on the MB drives 75Watts, combining them with a cable gives 150W through one 8PIN connector).

    I used https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B0749DQ3VX/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    While I was waiting for that to arrive I was able to power the card correctly using a dual SATA to 8PIN cable I had where I disconnected the internal DVD drive and used those two power cables, but then I swapped back to the above when the cable came.

    CABLING:
    Even though the MDP->DP cables worked just fine on the 6870 and I did not change the resolutions of the displays (they were both running native max), these cables didn't work at all for the RX580 card. Don't know why. I would assume because they were only DP1.2 cables but I had a set of DP->DP cables from Microcenter that said they are DP1.2 cables. This worked, but the video quality was poor, there was color bleeding off the edge of fonts. I'm now ordering DP1.4 cables from Monoprice.

    In the interim, I'm running HDMI 2.0b cables to the monitors and they look crystal clear. (Just I need one of the HDMI's for a PIP Tivo unit, so I need to change it back to DP when the cables arrive.


    Radeon RX 580:
    Chipset Model: Radeon RX 580
    Type: GPU
    Bus: PCIe
    Slot: Slot-1
    PCIe Lane Width: x16
    VRAM (Dynamic, Max): 8192 MB
    Vendor: AMD (0x1002)
    Device ID: 0x67df
    Revision ID: 0x00e7
    Metal: Supported, feature set macOS GPUFamily1 v3
    Displays:
    DELL U3415W:
    Resolution: 3440 x 1440 (UWQHD - Ultra-Wide Quad HD)
    UI Looks like: 3440 x 1440 @ 60 Hz
    Framebuffer Depth: 24-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
    Display Serial Number: 68MCF5560N5L
    Main Display: Yes
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Rotation: Supported
    Automatically Adjust Brightness: No
    DELL P2815Q:
    Resolution: 3840 x 2160 (2160p 4K UHD - Ultra High Definition)
    UI Looks like: 3840 x 2160 @ 30 Hz
    Framebuffer Depth: 24-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
    Display Serial Number: WJJGR45AA2MM
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Rotation: Supported
    Automatically Adjust Brightness: No
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    For your info, the RX580 can output 30bit colour very well.
    3840x1080 30bit.png

    And 10.13.6 should give your card HDMI 2.0 native support (in other words, 4K 60Hz via HDMI without any adaptor)
     
  3. thepawn thread starter macrumors 6502

    thepawn

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    #3
    OK, used SwitchRes to get the 30-bit. Anything for me to check the HDMI 2.0?

    DELL U3415W:
    Resolution: 3440 x 1440 (UWQHD - Ultra-Wide Quad HD)
    UI Looks like: 3440 x 1440 @ 60 Hz
    Framebuffer Depth: 30-Bit Color (ARGB2101010)
    Display Serial Number: 68MCF5560N5L
    Main Display: Yes
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Rotation: Supported
    Automatically Adjust Brightness: No
    DELL P2815Q:
    Resolution: 3840 x 2160 (2160p 4K UHD - Ultra High Definition)
    UI Looks like: 3840 x 2160 @ 30 Hz
    Framebuffer Depth: 30-Bit Color (ARGB2101010)
    Display Serial Number: WJJGR45AA2MM
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Rotation: Supported
    Automatically Adjust Brightness: No
     
  4. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/native-hdmi-2-0-support-on-rx580.2129711/
     
  5. ibarnett macrumors regular

    ibarnett

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Australia
    #5
    I have the same card & have had a run around with DP cables to Asus MX34 monitor.
    Sometimes they work, sometimes not. Googled & tried disconnect & reconnect power to they monitor, then they work.
    Not the next day!
    No problems with HDMI.
    Can't find the problem with the DP cables, I looked here https://www.displayport.org/cables/how-to-choose-a-displayport-cable-and-not-get-a-bad-one/
    Now have ordered Certified DisplayPort 1.2 Cable & will see how that goes, anyway HDMI is OK, just want to know what gives. :confused:
    Thanks for starting the thread.
     
  6. MisterAndrew macrumors 65816

    MisterAndrew

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #6
    Do you have the freezing under load issue if you flash it with the Pulse BIOS? You can find the one for your memory type in TechPowerUp’s VGA BIOS Collection.
     
  7. thepawn thread starter macrumors 6502

    thepawn

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    #7
    Ahh, this Dell 4k monitor doesn't do 60hz. It's an older one that I got for free from a friend... need to get some new ones. :)
    --- Post Merged, Aug 9, 2018 ---
    OK, I've got some 1.4 cables coming, I'll let you know how they go.... I had a steady picture with DP->DP cables but the color bleed was bad, figure that's from them not being quality cables? I had no luck with DP->miniDP cables and I was thinking it's because they are not certified 1.2's, but they worked just fine for the 6870 card at the same resolutions.
    --- Post Merged, Aug 9, 2018 ---
    Once I got at least 150Watts to it I've not had any problems... I've not tried flashing any BIOS on it yet. Is there a good GPU only-tester app I can run since I'm on a lower CPU (Quad 2.66Ghz) a lot of the benchmark apps get held up by my CPU before the GFX card.
    --- Post Merged, Aug 9, 2018 ---
    I did bookmark this though I haven't tried it: http://www.mathewinkson.com/2013/03...x-the-picture-quality-of-an-external-monitor/
     
  8. stumann macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2019
    #8
    Thanks for your post! I just swapped out a GTX970 for the RX580 in my Mac Pro 5,1 - suddenly my previously good-looking monitor had colour-smearing/bleeding off the edge of the fonts.

    So I swapped out my Displayport cable for an HDMI one and it's much better.

    Is there any advantage in a DP1.4 cable if I'm only at 1920X1200?
     
  9. Kubat macrumors newbie

    Kubat

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Poland
    #9
    I have the same card in mac Pro 4.1 -> 5.1 all is fine. What advantages woud I get if I flash it with PULSE bios?
     

Share This Page

8 August 7, 2018