S---L---O---W startup time..... advice please.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by anim8or, Apr 14, 2008.

  1. anim8or macrumors 65816

    anim8or

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    #1
    Hello all,

    Firstly I have searched and read many threads similar to my question but every case is different to my setup or not similar enought to answer my query.

    I have a 2007 Mac Pro Quad core 2.66GHz, 7GB RAM, 3 Internal HDDs (two in a RAID config) 2 external Firewire drives, 2 ACDs, bluetooth aluminum apple keyboard and mouse.

    Fresh out of the box my boot times were magic, about 15-20 secs and i could start using anything, now my boot times are about 1:15secs!!!!

    I am counting from the moment i press the power button to the moment the desktop is up and running ready to use.

    I have tried running the maintenance scripts, repaired permissions, etc b ut still no increase in boot time.

    Can anyone advise on what i should try to speed things up a little?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. EvanLugh macrumors 68000

    EvanLugh

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Developer land
    #2
    Sytem Prefs -> Accounts -> login items, remove the uneeded items and see what it does.
     
  3. anim8or thread starter macrumors 65816

    anim8or

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    #3
    i only have a couple of login items, such as ituneshelper....

    I am on my MBP just now so i cant tell you exactly which ones i have, how do i know if any are needed at startup? I dont want to selete them as startup items and not get them back.....
     
  4. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #4
    Take a look at the system logs to see what's happening
    during bootup.
     
  5. chas0001 macrumors 6502a

    chas0001

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Alicante, SPAIN
    #5
    start up in verbose mode (cmd-V) and see if you can see where its hanging. Mine used to pause for a while loading the Ethernet drivers.
     
  6. anim8or thread starter macrumors 65816

    anim8or

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    #6
    How do i do that...? What should i look for?

    How did you solve the problem with the ethernet drivers?
     
  7. chas0001 macrumors 6502a

    chas0001

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Alicante, SPAIN
    #7
    I had to do an archive install and it resolved the problem. Not ideal.
     
  8. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #8
    Console.app. There's a list of logs down the left-hand side.
    "system.log" is a good one to look at. You'll need to be in
    the admin account to view it. Log entries have a timestamp
    to the left. Look for timestamps that match the time when
    your system was booting.
     
  9. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #9
    in addition to the above recommendations i would repair permissions and use the automation feature in Onyx and then restart a few times to reload the system kexts.
     
  10. anim8or thread starter macrumors 65816

    anim8or

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    #10
    Thanks rich but i do this regularly already. Any other advice?
     
  11. merl1n macrumors 65816

    merl1n

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #11
    In addition (or alternative), I would:

    1. Reset the PRAM (at boot, hold down cmd-opt-p-r keys until the third "bong" and then let go of the keys).

    2. Boot in "safe mode" which does many things like clearing caches, running file system checks and making necessary repairs (fsck in unix), etc. To do this, reboot and when you hear the bong, immediately hold down the shift key until you see the "spinning gear" on the grey screen. At that point let go of the shift key. This boot will take some time as it is doing many things, but eventually you will have the login screen with "Safe boot enabled" message in red letters. You can then reboot normally.

    See if this helps.
     
  12. EvanLugh macrumors 68000

    EvanLugh

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Developer land
    #12
    Try XSlimmer to slim down and unnecessary usage and see if it reduces anything. There's also something else beginning with F you can to but I've forgotten. :eek:
     
  13. anim8or thread starter macrumors 65816

    anim8or

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    #13
    I'll give these a try and let you guys know, thanks again.
     
  14. EvanLugh macrumors 68000

    EvanLugh

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Developer land
    #14
    There's also a tool called Maintenance 3.8. Run batch scripts and it should work wonders for you. Good luck.
     
  15. Lumpydog macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    #15
    This is what I would do first - I've had reboot issues and this always resolves them.
     
  16. EvanLugh macrumors 68000

    EvanLugh

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Developer land
    #16
    That's what I meant. :eek:
     
  17. freezerburrn macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Location:
    La Habra, CA
    #17
    After reading this thread I thought I'd give resetting the PRAM a try to see what would happen. In my case it actually made my boot time about 20 seconds longer for some strange reason and now I can't seem to find a remedy.

    When I reboot or power on my Mac Pro now, there is a grey blank screen for about 20 seconds. Then, the grey screen with the Apple logo appears along with the spinning loading meter at the bottom and my computer proceeds to boot from there.

    Does anyone know what happened with my Mac Pro here? It used to go immediately to the grey screen with the Apple logo before resetting my PRAM.
     
  18. bld44 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    #18
    How many sticks of ram do you have in it? I noticed that my machine took much longer to boot up once I upped my ram.
     
  19. zap2 macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #19

    Yup, more RAM, the more time the computer needs to spend "approving" the RAM to be used.

    7Gbs, thats a lot of RAM. Pull some out, see if its fast. If it is, then at least you know its the RAM, and not something else.
     
  20. freezerburrn macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Location:
    La Habra, CA
    #20
    Well, I can't seem to figure out what's going on here. I'm going to take out my battery overnight and see if that does anything.
     
  21. freezerburrn macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Location:
    La Habra, CA
    #21
    Okay so taking out the battery did absolutely nothing just as I thought. However, reselecting my main drive in System Preferences/Startup Disk did the trick. Now I have no blank grey screen lag.
     
  22. cecilworsley macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    #22
    try to reset the PRAM google it will be on apple website and see how that works.:apple:
     
  23. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #23
    sorry to be the forum police but this was suggested in post #11.
     

Share This Page