S.M.A.R.T. Status failing...?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by krewelement394, Jan 18, 2010.

  1. krewelement394 macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #1
    hi i was erasing my Flash Drive just now and i saw that my HDD was in red text, i clicked it and it said S.M.A.R.T. Status: Failing. and it is telling me to back up and contact an apple person. why is it failing if it is not even 2 years old yet it is barley 1 1/2 years old (my macbook) im so confused. what caused it to "fail" and how can i fix it? or will a reboot fix this? please help ive never experienced or witnessed this. im scared lost and confused.
     
  2. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #2
  3. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #3
  4. krewelement394 thread starter macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #4
    what caused it? and i am backing up my stuff with time machine now. am still confused on what caused it to fail. how can i prevent it next time? i just restarted my macbook thinking it would fix on it's own but nope the "red" letters are still there.... if this hd does fail when i get a new one will i have all my apps, photos, music and everything else back into the other hardrive? if so how? by using time machine? and can some one point me to where i can buy a new hardrive for my macbook (middle 2008 model(not sure if it is considered to be late or early)). i am still very upset because it failed and it isnt even that old. like i said before what caused it and how can i prevent it next time.
     
  5. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #5
    Hard drives fail... all hard drives fail eventually
    There is probably nothing you could have done to prevent it

    Yes, you can restore from Time Machine
    Personally, I use Carbon Copy Cloner (CCC) to clone the drive and to restore

    You can check for new hard drives on Other World Computing or Amazon and get good deals

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  6. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #6
    There are many that believe that watching excessive amounts of porn causes premature hard drive failures.
     
  7. krewelement394 thread starter macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #7
    so when i get this new hardrive and install it will i have to put in all of the back up cds? how will i add up al of my programs and everything else to my new hardrive? when i use time machine i ussually just drag, will that work too? oh and what hardrvie should i get is there a specific one? i would prefferably like to get one that is above the 160GB but i am not sure how much my macbook can take. i was reading on how SMART failure and i read that turning off and turning on the power can cause it to fail, i really do not turn off and on my macbook much i ussually just close it, which i am sure it goes into sleep mode. i leave in this mode over night most of the times, is this ok? i shut it down every other day or so. should i be shutting it down every night? my PC which is over 5 years old has not messed up, it is still running great. i shut that one every night.

    what brands of HDD should i look for and which ones should i avoid. i really do not want to go through this any time soon. is there a specific model of HDD i need for my macbook? can i get a link please?
     
  8. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
  9. krewelement394 thread starter macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #9
    will my macbook be able to handle a 500GB HD? can it handle this one: this one 1TB
     
  10. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #10
    Yes, it will take the 500 GB Scorpio Blue
    No, it will not take that 1 TB drive, it is too big physically

    These 2.5" drives will work


    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  11. krewelement394 thread starter macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #11
    i think ill just go with the 500GB. will the one from amazon work or does it have to say notebook HDD?

    so which one is the right one?

    eShop or Amazon
     
  12. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #12
    The one I linked to on Amazon will work

    Edit: either one... same drive

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  13. krewelement394 thread starter macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #13
    ok just making sure, i do not want to get a wrong one. i got confused because the second link you linked to to all said "notebook HDD" and the one from amazon did not.

    so when i install this new HDD how will i restore my old HDD to this new one? when i got my macbook i made my user name Krewelement and im the only one who uses my macbook, i also know that if you switch user names some things will not work with that user name. help.
     
  14. Paul B macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    #14
    If you're looking for the biggest hard drive to fit in your MB, there is a 640GB Scorpio Blue for a little bit more..
     
  15. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #15
    There are a number of ways you can do it

    You can restore from your current Time Machine backup

    Or you can clone your HDD to an external drive using Carbon Copy Cloner or SuperDuper and clone to your new drive

    You can get an external enclosure and clone directly to your new drive before or after you have installed it

    You can reinstall your OSX and use migration assistant with your old drive in a FW external enclosure

    Yes, there is a 640 GB version that is more expensive


    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  16. krewelement394 thread starter macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #16
    the 640 one isnt that bad it is only about 20 $ more than the 500GB but it is still a bt pricey for a college student ill have to think about it.

    wow there are a lot of methods, most of them i am not familiar with. if i go with the time machine method, when i install the new HDD do i just click on HD Macintosh on time machine and then click restore? will that work? and will i still have to install leopard then snow leopard, or will lit prompt me wen i first turn on my macbook?

    how do i clone my HDD? and how will i transfer all of that data to the new one if i have all the programs on the external drive and not the HDD..?
     

Share This Page