S.T.A.L.K.E.R in Bootcamp

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Strigoitsepesh, Oct 27, 2009.

  1. Strigoitsepesh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #1
    I wasn't sure where to post this, so I hope I got it right. Please feel free to set me straight if that isn't the case. I noticed that S.T.A.L.K.E.R is on sale this week on Steam for $5.00. I'm running a black macbook, with the GMA950 graphics card. Obviously I'm not hoping to run the game with settings cranked, but my question is thus: will it run at all? I meet/surpass all of the other requirements (it requires 1 gig of ram, I have 2)

    SO

    What do you guys/gals think?
     
  2. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    Just be warned that the Steam version is 1.5, the boxed version is 1.6. All servers are using 1.5 so you can't play multiplayer on the Steam version. And from looking at the GMA play games on Youtube, I would say it might run, guess you would have to take the risk.

    And I found something about modded GMA drivers that make games run better? Check it out here:

    http://groups.google.dk/group/intel9x-gaming?hl=da

    EDIT: Two mistakes.
     
  3. Strigoitsepesh thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #3
    Thanks a lot for the quick help. I'm digging around that community right now. Since it is only $5, I wouldn't be too remiss if it didn't work out.
     
  4. Winni macrumors 68030

    Winni

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Germany.
    #4
    Forget it. STALKER requires much more graphics power than those low-end Intel chips can provide. The minimum to play it decently would be the X1600 that was in the first generation Intel Core Duo iMacs. I've played it on that and it worked.
     
  5. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #6
    I doubt it would run great on an X1600. I have a 9400M Macbook and x1600 iMac, it even runs poorly on the Macbook!
     
  6. nick1516 macrumors 6502a

    nick1516

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #7
    Seriously? I was thinking of picking this up and it looked like I surpass all the requirements well enough, plus I'm running World at War so I imagined this would work fine.
     
  7. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #8
    Oh it'll run, just don't expect it to run as well as an id Tech, Unreal or Source engine game. I can run Unreal Tournament 3 at medium-high settings at native res just perfectly but for Stalker I have to play in medium settings at a lower resolution.
     
  8. Rodus macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #9
    It runs ok on an overclocked x1600, medium/low but not 'great'.
     
  9. Zerostatic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Location:
    Middletown, CT
    #10
    I have a 9400m macbook and Stalker runs great for me. I have the settings in the medium-high range. I have noticed that the it has to be plugged in or performance suffers dramatically.
     
  10. Ol3s macrumors regular

    Ol3s

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    L'viv, Ukraine
    #11
    What are you talking about, I have all three games installed and they all work very well, I was even surprised. Ok, Call of Pripyat slows down sometimes, but the rest work perfectly.
     
  11. Helmigurt macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Location:
    Austria
    #12
    Hi Everybody!

    I bought the 5€ Steam version and it runs perfectly fine under Bootcamp 3.0 with Windows 7 64 Bit. I play it on my Al Macbook with 2.4 Ghz Core 2 Duo, 4 GB Ram and the 9400m. It runs with 1280x800 resolution and settings on Medium. Just be sure to turn of any antialiasing.

    I played it for hours last week and its really an atmospheric gem! But firefights are getting harder and harder..
     

Share This Page