S Video and MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ohla313, May 22, 2010.

  1. ohla313 macrumors 6502a

    ohla313

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #1
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Those both pics are just about iPhone :confused:

    You need Mini DisplayPort to DVI and then DVI to S-Video adapter
     
  3. ohla313 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ohla313

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #3
    what do you mean just about iphone? its about my MBP i took the pics with my iPhone, in kind of a hurry tho

    So I need to buy TWO adapter plugs??? Damnnn my crappy Dell just needs the plug and its good..:confused:
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    I'm only seeing: [​IMG]

    I need to change the above little bit. Apple's MDP to DVI is DVI-D so that doesn't work. You need MDP to VGA and VGA to S-Video
     
  5. ohla313 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ohla313

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #5
  6. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
  7. ohla313 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ohla313

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #7
    which? MDP to VGA or VGA to S Video?

    also I want to be able to stream Justin.tv from my iPhone to the TV what would I need for that?
     
  8. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #8
  9. ohla313 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ohla313

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #9
  10. ohla313 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ohla313

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #10
  11. torpy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Location:
    Sydney + Los Angeles
    #11
    That's for older MacBooks which had mini-DVI ports, yours has a mini-DisplayPort port. :)
     
  12. ohla313 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ohla313

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #12
    aw man whyd apple complicate this for me
     
  13. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #13
    'Cause they want you to buy multiple adapters which costs them 0.68$ to make but they sell them for 30$
     
  14. Bradan macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    #14
    Does your TV suppourt component or something better?

    It might be better to got that route as s-video is like 576x478 or something?
     
  15. tommyknockrs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    #15
    The only way to get svideo to a TV from a newer MBP is to use the Mini displayport to VGA adapter plug it into a scan converter to convert it to a NTSC/PAL type of signal. What kind of tv are you plugging into? Many modern laptops don't bother with Svideo or composite inputs anymore because the only new tv's you can buy are digital.
     
  16. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #16
    ^^^ This.

    Before you go buying the Mini DisplayPort to DVI adapter, and then the DVI to S-Video adapter, you should know that they will not work with each other.

    take a look at the physical connectors for each:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    The miniDisplayPort to DVI adapter outputs DVI-D only. In short, this means only a digital signal is sent out. The DVI-to-S-Video adapter required a DVI-I output (the I is for "Integrated") which can output either digital or analog. DVI-I has those extra prongs (2 each above and below the flat connector) that the displayport adapter doesn't have, and which sends out the analog signal. So they won't physically connect, and they will not work.

    Use the recommendation above. Or, get a new TV.
     
  17. ohla313 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ohla313

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #18
    wow so according to the article, I need FOUR different things to connect my MBP to a TV? whoa...yea maybe I'll just stop using the old TV, I thought I could but I can just use a newer one. Thanks everyone!
     

Share This Page