Safari 4 Adding Top Sites

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by TheLimpOne, Jun 8, 2009.

  1. TheLimpOne macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    #1
    Ok so I'm trying to add other top sites on Safari 4... I see it says "drag URL here to add a top site". Well, when I do that, I just get a icon saying I can't do that, and when I let the URL go on the window anyway, my top site is not added. So what the hell, how do I add a top site?
     
  2. bbotte macrumors 65816

    bbotte

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    I think you need to click the "edit" button at the bottom first.
     
  3. TheLimpOne thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    #3
    I do.

    You actually only get the "drag the URL to this window" message when you click the Edit button.
     
  4. TheLimpOne thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    #4
    Lol and as I watch my top sites, it just randomly added the MacRumors main page and MacRumors forums to it... ugh, not that I mind, I probably would've done it anyway. Safari 4 is kinda weird though so far.
     
  5. kolea macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    #5
    Adding Top Sites

    Hey I was having the same issue as you, and I figured it out by accident. Don't drag the address to the window that says "drag url to this window." Instead, after you click the edit button, type the address in the browser, and drag it to the window on your top sites you want it in, not the place on the bottom where it says to drag it.

    I know, I felt ridiculous when I figured it out too. Hope that helps. :)
     
  6. eliptoid macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    #6
    to expand

    following of from what TheLimpOne suggested, type in the url and hover over the blue icon on the left.. drag this into the top sites area and you should have success.
     

Share This Page