Safari 5 + Youtube + Flash = Weird Tabs Behaviors

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by penter, Nov 30, 2010.

  1. penter, Nov 30, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2010

    penter macrumors 6502a

    penter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #1
    Hi there,

    I'm running OSX10.6.5, Safari 5.0.3, and Flash Player 10.1.52.14

    When on Youtube, every time I try to open a video on a new tab (cmd+click), the video not only opens up in a new tab, but also gets loaded in the current tab that I'm in.
    Very frustrating.
    I can bypass the issue by right-clicking on the video and selecting "Open Link in New Tab" and the current tab that I'm in will remain unchanged.

    I've tried dumping Safari's prefs, uninstalling flash, repairing permissions, then re-installing flash, but nothing worked.

    Note that command+clicking works as it should on any other website... (i.e. opens up the link in a new tab, keeping the current tab unchanged)
     
  2. penter thread starter macrumors 6502a

    penter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
  3. maverick48 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Location:
    Utah
    #3
    Yes

    I have been having the same issues as well. I normally use Glims, and Safari Stand. For some reason - fresh install of snow leopard seemed to fix it, but then it came back as I added stuff back into Safari.
    I also use Cosmopod.
     
  4. penter, Dec 14, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2010

    penter thread starter macrumors 6502a

    penter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #4
    I have Cosmopod too! but i thought i had deleted it. =/
    sounds like a good first place to start.
    gonna try to figure out how to uninstall it

    edit: just run the installer. there you'll find the uninstall option.
    seems to have worked for me.
    If the issue bothers me as much as it did me, i recommend you uninstall it, and just download TubeTV. it's free, and it works great.
     
  5. p4ntha macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    #5
    i also have this weird behaviour and i already uninstalled cosmopod. I even re-installed it und uninstalled it again. no change.

    can anyone help?
     
  6. penter thread starter macrumors 6502a

    penter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #6
    Did you run the uninstall how i described it in the post above?
    Do you use any other plugins?
     
  7. p4ntha macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    #7
    yes i uninstalled it by using the installer and clicked on uninstall.

    and yes i have other extensions. here a list:

    -Better Source
    - MeasureIt
    -Shortly
    -AdBlock
    -Flickr
    -Read it Later
    - and the 1Password extensions( with only this extension i starteted and it worked perfectly fine)
     
  8. penter thread starter macrumors 6502a

    penter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #8
    I have 1password too, and it works fine. try installing each one by one to see which one is causing the problem.

    I've started noticing some strange tab behavior from facebook as well. Have you, by any chancee?
    specifically when I try to make tabs out of individual notifications :confused:
     
  9. p4ntha macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    #9
    i uninstalled every extensions one by one, nothing changes. -.-. is there a chance to uninstall safari and reinstall it?
     

Share This Page