Safari 9.0 RAM Hogger

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by nattK, Jul 12, 2015.

  1. nattK macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #1
    Is Safari 9.0 taking up lots of precious RAM memory for you guys? It's particularly bad when there are pinned tabs in Safari.
     
  2. MikhailT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #2
    Nope, less than 500MB for 3 tabs, two pinned. Nothing changed between pinned and unpinned as far as I can tell. I'm also using about 6 extensions as well.
     
  3. windywalks macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    #3
    I've had Safari swallow all available memory on my late 2013 13" rMBP more than once in DP 1 and 2, it hasn't done that yet on DP3/Public Beta, but I didn't even have time to use the computer this past weekend. I only have 4 GB RAM, so it used it all up and then went for the SSD swapping out in excess of 10 GB.
     
  4. megalaser macrumors 6502

    megalaser

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #4
    Yes it absolutely is, it's not releasing RAM. If I leave Facebook open for a while and scroll up and down the feed it's hogging up to 4GB of my RAM just on that tab, the previous version of Safari did not do this. It's a RAM hog.
     
  5. You are the One, Jul 25, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2015

    You are the One macrumors 6502a

    You are the One

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014
    Location:
    In the present
    #5
    Might be Facebook also :) I have 10 tabs with different sites up and Safari uses 400 MB.

    My impression of the beta is that it handles process cpu and memory more efficient than eg. 10.10

    Ditching Flash might have some positive effect on memory consumption as well.
     
  6. ScottNWDW macrumors 65816

    ScottNWDW

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    #6
    Even with Safari being the only thing opened, it is hogging up to 6GB Ram. I am running it on a 2014 iMac
     
  7. dsemf macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    #7
    It would be interesting to see a screen shot of the activity monitor memory tab.

    What plug-ins are installed?

    DS
     
  8. You are the One macrumors 6502a

    You are the One

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014
    Location:
    In the present
    #8
    Run Malwarebytes just to make sure you haven't caught some crap. And as dsemf says, check what plugins you have, maybe try to see what happens if you disable them.
     

Share This Page