Safari AdBlock (Extension)

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Dark Void, Jul 22, 2011.

  1. Dark Void macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #1
    Anyone using this and experiencing the installation tab every time they open Safari since the software update?
     
  2. saberahul macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    Maybe your checkbox under extensions in pref. is checked. See that. The problem that I have is diff than yours. Adblock extension simply doesn't work anymore with the latest Safari. It is either me or it hasn't been updated yet.
     
  3. Dark Void thread starter macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #3
    sorry, checkbox for what? i only have "enable" checked, and every time I reset safari and relaunch it, a separate tab is created saying that "adblock is now installed" or whatever.
     
  4. jive turkey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    #4
    Isn't there a link somewhere on the installation tab that says something like, "Seeing this every time? Click here"? I thought I saw that when I first installed the extension, but maybe that was the Chrome version.
     
  5. Obscurelight macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Adblock actually does work. I have lion and latest safari. Just click file->extensions and install adblock from the page. Same thing for clicktoflash. When I download click to flash installer off of the official website and install it, safari won't recognize it. However when I install it from safari extensions webpage "it just worked"
     
  6. Dark Void thread starter macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #6
    yes, all it says is "makes sure you are not using a file cleaner that cleans 'localStorage' files" or something to that effect. all i'm doing is resetting the browser and after I relaunch the installation tab comes up separately and it never did this before the update.

    @Obscurelight: it's not a question of whether or not it works, it's still fully functional, i'm just getting the "AdBlock is not installed" tab every time I open my reset browser.

    btw reinstalling didn't work.
     
  7. Michaelgtrusa macrumors 604

    Michaelgtrusa

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Everywhere And Nowhere
  8. Dark Void thread starter macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
  9. Dark Void thread starter macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #9
    found out that this only happens when you reset safari with "remove all website data" selected.

    is "remove all website data" new?
     

Share This Page