Safari address input

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by tadastm, Jul 24, 2014.

  1. tadastm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    #1
    When I open up a new tab or a new window, I have to click on the address bar to be able to type in the address. Or I have to press tab twice until text input toggles on the address bar
    Has anyone else noticed this? It is very annoying
    Running DP4
     
  2. solid6 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
  3. g-7 macrumors 6502

    g-7

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    Poland
  4. inket macrumors regular

    inket

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    #4
    This is very weird. I do not seem to have that problem on my end. I wonder what triggers it.
     
  5. AustinIllini macrumors demi-god

    AustinIllini

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #5
    Safari is a big pile of horse manure on Yosemite. Mine won't even start.
     
  6. mirageboss macrumors member

    mirageboss

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    I noticed this through the DP's myself... Definitely needs looking into.
     
  7. colonel179 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2014
    #7
    It works fine for me. Whenever I press command+N to open a window or command+T to open a tab the cursor goes automatically to the address bar and I can start typing right away without clicking it. I also use command+L a lot to go directly to the address bar and I can start typing.
     
  8. tadastm thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    #8
    also, can anyone scroll through websites using arrow buttons? this also seems to be broken
     
  9. szastan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Location:
    Gdansk, Poland
    #9
    the same here, send feedback to Apple already
     
  10. hmarsili macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    #10
    Same problem here. I tried resetting safari settings but is the same.
     
  11. tadastm thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    #11
    FIXED!!

    Installing DP5 DID NOT fix the issue.

    However, I tried changing changing my location and regional settings to US and customized my number format.
    This somehow solved the problem and now I can just start typing whenever I press CMD T
     
  12. The19th macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Location:
    NorCal
    #12
    Odd that, indeed. Incorrect localization settings seem to be affect quite a bit of other things too, like apps randomly appearing in different languages.
     
  13. BigJohno macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #13
    Yes safari has quite a few bugs. More than anything else I feel. I have issues with tabs... Sometimes I can see my tabs in the menu bar and sometimes they are gone and I have to view all at once or close safari to get at them...
     
  14. hmarsili macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    #14
    Hi,

    I tried changing regional settings to US but nothing changed. Still unable to type directly.

    What exactly did you do? Tnx!
     
  15. tadastm thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    #15
    I was trying to get spotlight suggestions to work. So at first I changed it US (Computer). That didn't help. So after a while I changed it to United States, chose the first day of the week Monday and checked off 24 hour time. Went into advanced and selected euro as currency.
    After that, spotlight started crashing a lot when I was trying to search for anything.
    But I didn't even relaunch Safari before the bug was gone

    Don't know what exactly triggered it, hope it helps.

     

Share This Page