safari Beta 4 install - help

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by froll, Feb 28, 2009.

  1. froll macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    #1
    I've tried installing the beta 4 and once loaded almost immediately crashes. Uninstalled / reinstalled -- same thing. I've looked through the forum and seen some other complaints like this but no fixes. Any help???
     
  2. Word Warrior macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Bromsgrove, Worcestershire UK
    #2
    Same here

    Installed the latest security updates and 10.5 is up to date installed S4beta, restarted iMac and Safari crashes while trying to open, Report to Apple dialogue comes up but nothing seems to be logged but I sent it anyway.

    I've now uninstalled it and Safari 3 is functioning correctly (writing this in it) Any thoughts anyone?
     
  3. andreab35 macrumors 6502a

    andreab35

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    Wow, I don't know what to say to help you guys out.
    When I first installed Safari 4, all I had to do was install the security updates and that was it. Safari is working perfectly for me now.

    Hang in tight guys, I bet you'll find a solution!
     
  4. Word Warrior macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Bromsgrove, Worcestershire UK
    #4
    I did everything right, so what gives?

    I made sure I had all the security updates etc installed and restarted the iMac (In fact it won't let you install S4 until you have) the download was unzipped and the pkg clicked, installed and the iMac restarted again. Nada! the icon starts bouncing in the dock and then puff! crash and error dialogue opens. It is curious that it has no log info in the send to Apple dialogue though.

    I might try again when I have more time 'coz it looks fantastic.:mad:
     
  5. Unconsoled macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Location:
    Rain City WA
    #5
    Mine install was easy too. Had a day where the MBA was getting really hot using Safari 4 but I was watching a lot of You Tube. Slowed way down and CPU use was through the roof. I know it uses more CPU but it was crazy slow. I uninstalled, fixed permissions, shut down and reinstalled it last night. So far no issues.

    I saw the terminal commands to change tabs and to have the blue bar back but I am clueless on how to run these.
     
  6. VS007 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    #6
    Safari 4 works fine on my MBA.
    Love the new top sites view like the Nasdaq screen.
    They claim it is faster, but lately I find Safari slower compared to Firefox for sites like huffingtonpost.com

    On Safari 3, the pinch to change font size worked fine on the trackpad. On Safari 4, I find it jumps two size up. Any one else has this issue?
     
  7. Miker2k macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #7
  8. VS007 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
  9. froll thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    #9
    Well, after numerous install attempts on MBA - no luck -- just keeps crashing after launch. Guess I'll have to wait till final version released. Has anyone had success installing after initial and multiple failures? I did install the beta on my PC and it does look pretty cool.
     
  10. merl1n macrumors 65816

    merl1n

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #10
    Note that some off these addons have been recently updated.

    I would first do a "safe boot" and try Safari 4 beta to see if it is fixed. If not, remove all of the input managers from:

    /Library/Input Managers/... and from ~user/Library/Input Managers

    Reboot and try Safari again.

    If it now works, start moving some of those addons back (to the original locations) and retest until you determine which one is conflicting with the Safari beta.

    I would also check the web for updates for each of your addons.
     
  11. merl1n macrumors 65816

    merl1n

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #11
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=657460&page=11
    Go to Post #269 on page 11.
     
  12. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #12
    It's a beta; it may not work; that said try reinstalling it and/or any updates.
     
  13. Word Warrior macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Bromsgrove, Worcestershire UK
    #13
    Problem solved Safari 4 now working!!!

    Had a bit of a brainwave. I'd forgotten that I'd got Glims installed so that I could get 'full screen' for Safari (like opera has, but GLIMS doesn't do it properly) So I uninstalled GLIMS, downloaded a fresh version of Safari 4 unpacked and installed it. Restarted my imac and hey presto. It works. Still yet to explore the finer detail but at least it's now running.:)
     

Share This Page