Safari download issue

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by KeithTZH, Apr 20, 2009.

  1. KeithTZH macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    #1
    I have been facing a downloading issue on my safari app recently. Before, I could download by jus clicking on the download link. But just recently when I click on the downlink, safari brings me to the link instead of downloading the file from the link. I have tried resetting safari, deleting any files related to safari in library and delete-install safari but all these methods doesn't seem to take care of the problem. Please advise.

    Cheers
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    Option-click on the link will download the file.
     
  3. KeithTZH thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    #3
    Thanks for the advice. But I am looking for a solution so I just need to click. Reason being where I am trying to download stuff like firefox, they will automatically send you to a page where they will automatically download the file within a couple of seconds. So instead of downloading the file I am always sent to the download link.
     
  4. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    A preference file probably needs trashed somewhere.
     
  5. KeithTZH thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    #5
    there are only afew files I managed to find.

    A folder "Safari" found in user>library>safari

    2 files found in:

    user>library>preferences>com.safari.plist

    user>library>preferences>com.safari.RSS.plist


    Are there anymore files located which I have missed?
     
  6. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
  7. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #7
    I'm not sure which one, but usually odd behaviors can be fixed by trashing the plist files. You'll have to reset your settings and such, but it should fix the problem.
     

Share This Page