Safari Extensions... Am I high on crack or...

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by kirkbross, Apr 14, 2015.

  1. kirkbross, Apr 14, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2015

    kirkbross macrumors 6502a

    kirkbross

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #1
    Am I blind or is there no "clear cache" extension for Safari?

    https://extensions.apple.com/?q=clear cache

    I use chrome, but it seems impossible no one would have developed a simple clear cache plugin for Safari with options on what to clear.
     
  2. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #2
    under Advanced (in Safari preferences), turn on the Develop menu, and it's there...

    as far as the crack problem... :eek:
     
  3. kirkbross thread starter macrumors 6502a

    kirkbross

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    Yeah, I know about the Developer menu... I want a single click button extension...
     
  4. IHelpId10t5 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    #4
    But you really don't want an extension to do a simple cache clearing! Really. What you should be doing is submitting a request to Apple to include flexible clearing of all browser data (like Chrome does) in a future version of Safari.

    Browser add-ins and extensions have become the next evil in browser security. Possibly even more dangerous that Flash, Java, and Silverlight combined, 3rd party extensions and search providers from untrusted developers have quickly become the most unrecognized threat in personal computing (on any platform). Users seem to be quite willing (or just plain unaware) to install dozens of browser extensions that provide nothing of real value in exchange for giving an untrusted vendor complete access to all of their browser communications.
     
  5. bbfc macrumors 68030

    bbfc

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, England.
    #5
    Maybe Apple won't allow it.
     
  6. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #6
    as opposed to simply: click Develop, click Empty Caches? or cmd-option-E?
    not complicated...
     
  7. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #7
    I use the app Cookie for this. You can set it to delete cache, cookies, etc. upon browser quit. You can also whitelist cookies you want to keep.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #8
    It doesn’t remove caches on a per-site basis though.
     

Share This Page