Safari/Google Play Music

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Cole Slaw, Jun 2, 2015.

  1. Cole Slaw macrumors 6502a

    Cole Slaw

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    Hey All;
    Anyone have any idea as to why I cannot play music on the Google Play Music site using the Safari web browser?
    Can't figure it out. It's like it looks as though your track is getting ready to play but then nothing happens, fails to play with the message "Couldn't play <name of track>, Skipped ahead".
    No matter what track I choose.
    Strangely, when I open the Firefox browser right after everything works fine.
    Anyone have any idea how I would fix this (what settings to change, etc.)?
    Thanks.
     
  2. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #2
    Take a look at your Safari prefs pertaining to plug-ins and extensions. Could be a problem there.
     
  3. Cole Slaw thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Cole Slaw

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    Wow,
    Thanks Brian.
    You were correct; it was an extension.
    Had to turn "ClicktoFlash" off.
    Now it works.
     
  4. jelman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    #4
    log into google music. go to settings - labs and click html5 audio on. that way you can keep clicktoflash on and much nicer on the cpu usage.
     
  5. Cole Slaw thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Cole Slaw

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    I'll do that, thanks for the tip. :)
     
  6. HoosierInFL macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #6
    Just upgraded to el Capitan and Google Play music does not load at all in Safari. It's a blank page. Works fine in Chrome.
     
  7. Eyvind_ua macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Location:
    Lviv
    #7
    Have the same issue. Does anyone know how to fix it?
     
  8. tacenda macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    #8
    Same here. I guess they changed something in safari :( A shame really, id like to use safari for all of my stuff
     

Share This Page