Safari hogging memory

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Jess77, Jul 3, 2012.

1. Jess77 macrumors newbie

I have a MBA 2010 13" ultimate and have posted before regarding the numerous issues it had lol and here's another one that I wonder if people have a fix too?

I'm still running Snow Leopard. Safari has been using up to 2 gigs of memory. In my iStat I normally have 2 gigs used, 700 MB inactive, and 15 MB free. I would understand if I was had multiple programs open (normally I'll have Word, iTunes, and Safari open). But I just started using Safari by itself. I've gone into the Activity Monitor and force quit the Safari Web content and it helps for about an hour and then it hogs the RAM again. Thankfully, I have the 4 gigs of RAM, but it's making my laptop run extremely slowly...so any suggestions? Besides getting more RAM, ha.

Thanks in advance!

2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

It's not hogging memory; it's using memory. Mac OS X manages memory quite well without the need for user involvement. Are you having performance problems with Safari? Are you having problems with Flash? Or are you simply looking at the numbers in Activity Monitor?
    Slow performance overall may or may not have anything to do with Safari. There are many possible causes of slow performance. This should help: Performance Tips For Mac OS X

Also,
    1. Launch Activity Monitor
    2. Change "My Processes" at the top to "All Processes"
    3. Click on the CPU column heading once or twice, so the arrow points downward (highest values on top).
    4. Click on the System Memory tab at the bottom.
    5. Take a screen shot of the whole Activity Monitor window, then scroll down to see the rest of the list, take another screen shot
    6. Post your screenshots.

3. Jess77 thread starter macrumors newbie