Safari in Leopard does not automatically add .com

Discussion in 'macOS' started by JayLenochiniMac, Nov 7, 2007.

  1. JayLenochiniMac macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New Sanfrakota
    #1
    I have an annoying problem in Leopard where typing a domain name and pressing return does not add www. and .com on and instead re-directs me to a page by my internet provider, Verizon, with a list of links. This does not happen in Tiger in the macbook even in the same household. Is there a workaround if it's an ISP issue with Leopard?
     
  2. koobcamuk macrumors 68040

    koobcamuk

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #2
    Are you joking?. This has already been talked about. There's a great search feature on this site. Please try it before posting.
     
  3. JayLenochiniMac thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New Sanfrakota
    #3
    Sorry. Didn't find it in my search. Please delete thread.
     
  4. JayLenochiniMac thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New Sanfrakota
    #4
    Actually, that thread doesn't solve anything. I do not observe this problem in Tiger so it appears to be a Leopard issue. Does anybody have a workaround?
     
  5. admiraldennis macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #5
    If I remember correctly, the OpenDNS DNS servers auto-complete domains like you desire.
     
  6. JayLenochiniMac thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New Sanfrakota
    #6
    Thanks. I will try it when I get home.
     
  7. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #7
    Everybody's a cop. :rolleyes:
     
  8. JayLenochiniMac thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New Sanfrakota
    #8
    I changed DNS to openDNS and it's a good workaround. However, it seems to slow loading speed considerably as it first directs the page to http://guide.opendns.com/?url:domainname before going to http://www.domainname.com. Safari in Tiger doesn't seem to do that and instead automatically adds www. and .com to the domain name. Is this a feature (or lack thereof) of Safari 3 in Leopard?
     
  9. jdovejr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    #9
    its a dns thing

    these sprint dns servers will take care of it and are accessible from any connection:

    4.2.2.1
    4.2.2.2
    4.2.2.3
    4.2.2.4
     
  10. Mac OS X Ocelot macrumors 6502a

    Mac OS X Ocelot

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    #10
    I'm not lazy so I finish urls on my own and this isn't a big deal for me (I didn't even know about it). It's four characters, or one quarter of a second.
     
  11. nsjfoster macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #11
    I was having same issue and adding just 4.2.2.1 to DNS as below seems to now have ".com" autocomplete as before. I tried a few company names I don't surf to and they all seemed to work fine. Thanx.


     

Share This Page