Safari in trash... oh crap!!!!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by tooshaggy, Aug 15, 2007.

  1. tooshaggy macrumors regular

    tooshaggy

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Location:
    SoCal
    #1
    OK, I'm a dumbass. I deleted Safari. Now I can't get a copy of safari to download that will work. (Not an update??)
    So I'm running Camino and it's nice.
    But I like Safari too. Is there a way I can get Safari 2????
    Anyone got a link???
    Not on Apple's site.
     
  2. dalvin200 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
  3. tooshaggy thread starter macrumors regular

    tooshaggy

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Location:
    SoCal
    #3
    I don't know where it is... burried in the storage closet.....:mad:
    I was hoping nothing would happen til I got Leopard.:rolleyes:
     
  4. fivetoadsloth macrumors 65816

    fivetoadsloth

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    #4
    If you have camnio why not get the safari 3 beta? I personally find it quite stable and less buggy than many others make it out to be.
     
  5. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #5
    I think you need Safari 2 before you can get Safari 3, since its technically an upgrade. Hopefully I'm wrong, like usual. :eek:
     
  6. CalBoy macrumors 604

    CalBoy

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    #6
    Oh please. You know almost everything about Macs/Apple. In fact, it's almost like you're...Steve Jobs!:p Seriously though, I always assume your post to be the most accurate whenever I see it in a thread.
     
  7. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #7
    That's not true; I don't know everything. I have no idea if I'll get a new iMac or not. They're kinda tempting... :p
     
  8. fivetoadsloth macrumors 65816

    fivetoadsloth

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    #8
    Though they released a windows version of it and they can't really upgrade. Hm.

    Edit: Looking on the site it has no mention of requiring safari 2 to upgrade on macs, but I think you are right as one the installation is completed you wont find safari 2 in your application folder.
     
  9. CalBoy macrumors 604

    CalBoy

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    #9
    WHAT??? Did the space-time continuum tear? JK. What's your current setup (I ask, completely hijacking the thread:p)?
     
  10. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #10
    iMac G5 and it's great, I just want to replace it (17") with a bigger, faster one. I'm mad though, so I probably shouldn't listen to myself.

    tooshaggy, once you get the restore discs back from storage, you may need Pacifist to find and extract Safari. :)
     
  11. CalBoy macrumors 604

    CalBoy

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    #11
    Well, if you have the money for it, why not buy yourself something nice? Although I can see if you'd want to wait until after Leopard. You're not a student right?

    Oh yeah, and on point, did the OP empty the trash? If he didn't, what's to stop him from restoring Safari?
     
  12. tooshaggy thread starter macrumors regular

    tooshaggy

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Location:
    SoCal
    #12
    yes i emptied the trash. Safari 3 is an upgrade.
    thanks though. I guess there is no link out there to safari 2. My wife is pissed cause she liked safari, and evidently does not like camino. I could give.
    please link to safari 2 please!!! Or apple, get off your duff and provide it! Hmmmmm, version tracker?????
     
  13. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #13
    Hey, I am happy to upload Safari.app from my applications folder, but first:

    1. I don't want my history, saved passwords etc. to be uploaded
    2. I must make sure it is legal
     
  14. Marjansar macrumors newbie

    Marjansar

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    #14
    History and profile and passwords are not stored within the app itself. Correct me if I am wrong.
     
  15. kwood macrumors 6502a

    kwood

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Location:
    In the Great White North.
    #15
    Pacifist should not be required assuming they have Mac OS X 10.4. An Optional Install of Safari is all that is required.

    You are right. The history and passwords are stored here:
    ~/Library/Safari
    ~/Library/Keychains

    I personally don't see any problem with uploading just the Safari program. It comes on every Mac and they can't use that version it on Windows. Plus the can download previous versions directly from Apple.
     
  16. tooshaggy thread starter macrumors regular

    tooshaggy

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Location:
    SoCal
    #16
    great, now I just have to find the tiger install disc......
    hmmmmmmmm. Where could it be. The wife better get used to camino!!
     
  17. Matthew Yohe macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    #17
    Do this:

    Download the Safari 3 beta. www.apple.com/safari/download/

    Mount the DMG

    Right click Safari3Beta.pkg click "Show package contents"

    Double click "Contents"

    Drag Archive.pax.gz to your desktop.

    Double click Archive.pax.gz

    Open the Archive folder it creates on your desktop

    Double click "Applications"

    Drag Safari into wherever you store your applications.

    (You really should find your Tiger DVD)
     
  18. killerrobot macrumors 68020

    killerrobot

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #18
    did you ever make a second account on your computer? this is another great reason to do so.
    you could try doing that now and copying it over from the new user -- but I'm not sure if it will still be there if you deleted it from the admin user, but you might as well give it a try.
     
  19. kwood macrumors 6502a

    kwood

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Location:
    In the Great White North.
    #19
    When you create another user it does not duplicate you Applications. By default Applications are stored at /Applications and are therefore accessible to all suers without duplicating them.
     
  20. tooshaggy thread starter macrumors regular

    tooshaggy

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Location:
    SoCal
    #20

    WINNER!!!!! DING DING DING DING!!!!!! WINNER!!!!!!!!
    It worked!!!!
    YOU RULE!!!!!!
    Thank you!!!!!:):):):):):):):)
     

Share This Page