Safari Is Still Choking!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Doug Donut, Mar 8, 2008.

  1. Doug Donut macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #1
    sorry but I have lost about $3000 this week alone to Safari absolutely NOT acting like it used to. I run a record label and it's not a major.
    I've unchecked java script, checked it again. Unchecked.., (great now I can't view almost all the sites paramount to the music industry):eek:
    I have done all updates, cache, resets... Is there a TOTAL restart I have to do? I mean I am willing to revert back to Safari 1.0 fer godsakes!
    My drive and internet provider are FINE! I tested them.
    I did that DSP thing (in the network bin) and last I looked, my preference did'nt even have it like my last setting was set.

    Please, I know SOMEONE must have an idea about this.

    I basically wait six to ten times as long as I used to for internet sites to load.

    I have had my Tiger os x 4.whatever powerbook for 13 months.

    I am desparate, and I hope you can understand, Thankyou.
     
  2. wgilles macrumors 6502

    wgilles

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    #2
    Have you tried Firefox or some of the other open source browsers?
    www.opensourcemac.org The first two things on the page are web browsers.
     
  3. PorscheDude macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    #3
    I nominate FireFox, it works very well with older computers.
     
  4. lofight macrumors 68000

    lofight

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    #4
    camino is also nice, but partly eye candy too..
     
  5. Doug Donut thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #5
    Firefox?

    still slow... It's the strangest thing! I'll try that other one... Thanks you all!:apple:
     
  6. virtuatony macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    Are you using Wi-Fi? or a wired connection maybe it's the router?

    I do notice with my home internet connection for some reason safari hangs on both of my newer macs for some websites when the router has a high load, the same thing happens on my windows box in firefox just less often I don't get it. Using wifi actually crashes my router, and the problem is still there with wired connections. Anyway enough about my problem I know it's the 2wire routers fault I've been though 2 of them and give up on them.
     

Share This Page