Safari keeps crashing...

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by loganpyle, Feb 11, 2009.

  1. loganpyle macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    #1
    Every single time I am on the web, a box will pop up telling me about some error that occurred, and then Safari will shut down. It brings up the dialog box telling me what happened, and then gives me the option to relaunch, report to Apple, etc.

    Does anyone else have this problem? I am completely caught-up on software updates.
     
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    Is a specific site causing the problem, or does it crash immediately on launch?
     
  3. edgew8 macrumors regular

    edgew8

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    #3
    1) what kind of Mac do you have?

    2) what version of OSX are you running?

    3) have you tried Firefox or Camino?..if yes, do they crash as well?
     
  4. jgreenoc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    #4
    Mee too

    I'm having a similar problem. I don't always get a dialog box. Often times Safari freezes while loading a page and when I force quit it says that Safari is not responding. I have not been able to use Safari for several days now.

    I have an Intel-based iMac with 4GB of RAM and OSX 10.5.6
     
  5. Chunk72 macrumors member

    Chunk72

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Durham, UK
    #5
    My Dad is having this issue with his Intel Mac Mini, my Wife reports the same on her PowerBook G4 but I've not had any problems on the Mac Pro or MBP.

    Anyone got a fix? Don't really want to do a reinstall if I can help it.
     
  6. gusious macrumors 65816

    gusious

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Location:
    Greece
  7. Chunk72 macrumors member

    Chunk72

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Durham, UK
    #7
    Yes, repaired permissions, restarted and no difference.

    As soon as he opens Safari he gets the spinning disk so I can't even get him to reset safari.
     
  8. reubs macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    #8
    THis is a shot in the dark, but I had been having problems with FF recently, and it turns out it was something to do with PicLens. That may not be the solution to your problem, but if it's there you might want to update or reinstall.

    Also, I think I fixed my problems by cleaning out the system cache.

    Again, this was for a problem with FF, but in the slightest chance they're related I wanted to let you know my solution!

    Good luck...
     
  9. youashwag macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    #9
    I have been having that same exact problem all day today. I wonder if it has anything to do with the recent software updates?
     
  10. gusious macrumors 65816

    gusious

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Location:
    Greece
    #10
    Do you have any plugins installed? Try reseting Safari.
     
  11. frenetic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    #11
    You can use an utility like onyx to reset Safari and clean its caches without starting it up.
     
  12. loganpyle thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    #12
    i have the late '08 MBP, v 10.5.6, and i have not used firefox for camino.
     
  13. Vitamin T™ macrumors newbie

    Vitamin T™

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #13
    Same Here!

    I having the exact same problem. It started when I did the last update on Friday. Firefox is running fine.
     
  14. loganpyle thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    #14
    I finally remembered to copy down one of the error messages today. This is the most common one.


    "Error #2044: Unhandled IOErrorEvent:. text=Error #2036: Load Never Completed."
     
  15. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
  16. munson macrumors 6502

    munson

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #16
    Along with many other users, I got this same problem since moving to 10.5.6

    I'd be interested to know when a software fix is out (since that seems to be the case to me).
     

Share This Page