Resolved Safari keeps opening to same website with pop up

iKat8

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 26, 2012
7
0
Please I am hoping someone can help me. I clicked on a link this afternoon which started to load a webpage. A pop up came up saying 'the site you are changing to does not exist'. I can not select anything in Safari as everything is greyed out. I did a force quit and restarted my machine and when I open Safari it keeps bringing the same website (and popup) up again.

I have tried looking in the library for Safari folder but can not find anything.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Regards
Kat
 
Last edited:

iKat8

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 26, 2012
7
0
Hi simsaladimbamba

I checked my DNS Server and it is greyed out, however when I follow the instructions in the link I am getting stuck?

Is there anyway to restore Safari settings from a time machine backup? I have tried reinstalling Safari but this did not help.
 
Comment
Nov 28, 2010
22,684
28
located
Hi simsaladimbamba

I checked my DNS Server and it is greyed out, however when I follow the instructions in the link I am getting stuck?

Is there anyway to restore Safari settings from a time machine backup? I have tried reinstalling Safari but this did not help.
What DNS servers are listed there?

Does the same also happen in any other browser you might have or downloaded to test it?

You can reset Safari this way:
 
Comment

iKat8

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 26, 2012
7
0
I have only one DNS Server listed - 10.0.0.138

I am not able to reset Safari as all the menu selections are greyed out.

I have not tried installing other browsers, however I have internet explorer on Windows OS (installed on my mac with Parallels) and that is working fine.
 
Comment
Nov 28, 2010
22,684
28
located
I have only one DNS Server listed - 10.0.0.138

I am not able to reset Safari as all the menu selections are greyed out.

I have not tried installing other browsers, however I have internet explorer on Windows OS (installed on my mac with Parallels) and that is working fine.
Then download Firefox or Opera or Chrome for Mac OS X via Windows and transfer the downloaded DMG file via USB flash memory thumb drive onto the Mac and install it.
Installing Applications in Mac OS X

The DNS address is going to your router, maybe you can connect to your router (which model, sticker on the bottom should tell you?) via entering 10.0.0.138 (normally it is 10.0.0.1 or 10.0.1.1, thus the .138 puts me a bit off) and see, if you can reset it (though there will be a button on the router to do this too). Maybe have a look at the manual of the router about changing DNS settings.

And just so we are on the safe site, what Mac OS X and Safari version do you use?
 
Comment

iKat8

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 26, 2012
7
0
I've installed Firefox and this works fine.

I am unable to connect to my router through Safari (as I can do anything in Safari) but can access from another computer. I don't think resetting the router will solve the problem in any case.

I'm using Lion OSX 10.7.2. I *think* I have the latest version of Safari 5.1.2, but can not confirm.
 
Comment
Nov 28, 2010
22,684
28
located
I've installed Firefox and this works fine.

I am unable to connect to my router through Safari (as I can do anything in Safari) but can access from another computer. I don't think resetting the router will solve the problem in any case.

I'm using Lion OSX 10.7.2. I *think* I have the latest version of Safari 5.1.2, but can not confirm.
Maybe delete the "com.apple.safari.plist" file located at Macintosh HD / Users / YOU / Library / Preferences /.
 
Comment

Stewart21

macrumors regular
Dec 9, 2011
187
0
South Yorkshire
I've installed Firefox and this works fine.

I am unable to connect to my router through Safari (as I can do anything in Safari) but can access from another computer. I don't think resetting the router will solve the problem in any case.

I'm using Lion OSX 10.7.2. I *think* I have the latest version of Safari 5.1.2, but can not confirm.
Make sure the rogue webpage has not set itself as your Homepage. Safari, Preferences, General, Homepage. It could be a cookie doing the damage. Choose Safari, Preferences, Privacy, Cookies and other website data. You could search though the list of many websites to find the rogue cookie or you could just delete all cookies. Be aware that if you delete all cookies then some sites which store some data on you will need that data re-inputting. For example your account number on an online banking site.

Stewart
 
Comment

iKat8

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 26, 2012
7
0
Maybe delete the "com.apple.safari.plist" file located at Macintosh HD / Users / YOU / Library / Preferences /.
I've tried finding this file a number of times yesterday but it is no where on my HD?

----------

Make sure the rogue webpage has not set itself as your Homepage. Safari, Preferences, General, Homepage. It could be a cookie doing the damage. Choose Safari, Preferences, Privacy, Cookies and other website data. You could search though the list of many websites to find the rogue cookie or you could just delete all cookies. Be aware that if you delete all cookies then some sites which store some data on you will need that data re-inputting. For example your account number on an online banking site.

Stewart
Great suggestion, I'm no IT whiz but I suspect this is the problem. Is there any way I can access preferences/cookies through finder as I'm not able to select Preferences (or anything) in the Safari app. I can't seem to locate any Safari files through my Library folders.

I've also tried looking under Macintosh HD > Library > Caches but this is nothing relating to Safari in there
 
Last edited:
Comment

iKat8

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 26, 2012
7
0
I've managed to locate the Safari history folder and deleted the cookie for that website ... still hasn't fixed my problem???
 
Comment

iKat8

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 26, 2012
7
0
Crisis Solved!!

After clicking on a link from an email Safari started to load a separate page (rogue site also started loading on a new window). Right before the pop up appeared I was able to access the menus in Safari so after several attempts I managed to click reset.

Thank you to simsaladimbamba and Stewart21 for your advice and suggestions, I appreciate it.
 
Comment

Similar threads

  • priorytools
6
Replies
6
Views
376
Replies
0
Views
259
Replies
2
Views
352
  • Ellezk
19
Replies
19
Views
2K
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.