Safari keeps reloading all the damn tabs

Discussion in 'iPad' started by aleni, Apr 25, 2010.

  1. aleni macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #1
    When i have 3 or more tabs open, switching to the other page makes safari reloading the tab. Is it because lack of ram on the ipad?

    Do you experience this issue?
     
  2. aaquib macrumors 65816

    aaquib

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #2
    We all do, it sucks. Fork out a dollar and get Atomic Browser and you won't worry about tabs reloading again.
     
  3. boss1 macrumors 6502a

    boss1

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    #3
    I believe this is to free up RAM so that other apps won't bog down.


    Apple should go back to using a virtual memory control panel. Reinvent it ..... again.
     
  4. JReynolds macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    Where the Air Force sends me
    #4
    I was just creating a thread and someone came into my bunk room. I went to the springboard for privacy and when I returned my thread was empty because safari had to reload.

    Epic fail

    I wonder if multitasking (fast app switching) will eliminate this problem when OS 4.0 comes out

    Sent form my iPad.
     
  5. RebelRed macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    #5
    Is Atomic browser really that good? I love Safari, but wouldn't mind looking around.
     
  6. JReynolds macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    Where the Air Force sends me
    #6
    Opera mini got me close to switching over permanently on my iPhone. I hope they release a browser with multitasking like...? There is an app out there that kinda let's you multitask, I don't remember the name tho!
     
  7. PlayHard macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #7
    Atomic browser is not bad. The only thing is it's a little slower than Safari but maybe it's just me. It does has nice features like ad blocker and finger swiping to switch tabs. I also like the tabs rather than Safari's way of handling multipages. I find myself using it more than Safari
     
  8. JReynolds macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    Where the Air Force sends me
    #8
    I just went and looked at Atomic Browser for the iPad and the reviews kinda spook me away from then purchase.

    There are a lot of people saying the app is EXTREMELY unstable.

    I just downloaded the iPhone app for iPad to test it out a little.
     
  9. JReynolds macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    Where the Air Force sends me
    #9
    I'm posting from atomic browser iPhone app from my iPad. It seems pretty quick actually. Maybe I'll skip out on my morning red bull and drop the $1 for this thing. :D
     
  10. kirchnrd macrumors 6502

    kirchnrd

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #10
    Drop the dollar, it's worth it. I still use safari more, but use atomic browser when I want tabs. Haven't had any stability issues it so far either, and it is fast enough.
     
  11. stevensr123 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #11
    I find it funny on the itunes store the 1st page of comments for atomic web browser are full of 1 stars and people saying it is a waist of money, then all the rest of the pages are all saying it is great.........
     
  12. jtara macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #12
    I doubt it. But a future release of Safari might. I think they simply haven't done enough updating of Safari to accommodate iPad use cases.

    There's nothing specifically in 4.0 that would help with this. But what is needed is ALREADY in iPhone OS. 4.0 is NOT getting automatic backing store for virtual memory. But iPhone OS does permit apps to map a file into virtual memory, for either read-only or read-write use. The file becomes the backing store for that memory.

    They could, for example, create a file for each tab, and store the data for each tab in memory allocated within that file. When you close a tab, the file is destroyed. The page would still have to be re-rendered to the screen, but things like HTML parsing and image resizing would only be done once. (e.g. they would store the "processed" content of the page). This is a bit different from a "page cache" that desktop browsers typically use, which just stores the original, un-parsed page content.

    On iPhone, it just wasn't important to do that. Some iPhone models only have 128M of RAM. Users don't expect a super-quick shift between pages, and the "tabs" aren't so easy to use in the first place. So, Apple took a simpler approach: they simply allocate memory for pages out of the main storage pool, and when asked by the OS to reduce Safari's memory footprint, they simply discard the memory for the least-recently-accessed page, and when it is needed again re-load it from the cache.
     
  13. TimothyB macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    #14
    I'm on Atomic right now too and always seems pretty stable, but can depend on the sites a person often visits. Like Digg can fail I heard due to the ad blocker when on, but a fix is already submitted.

    I really like the tabs and how they function. While one tab is loading I can jump to another, even on the iPhone without noticing a hit. It's said if music is playing in one tab, you still here it while in another. When you exit the app, you can set it keep the tabs last open, but they will all reload at the same time.

    Features a like: Lock rotation, search with quick selection to other Places like bing, amazon, YouTube, even current page. Access code for privacy, so anyone that wants to see your great new iPad doesn't have to know your browsing history. Private mode if needed. Fullscreen mode, which the new version allows three finger tap into, not just out. New version hopefully improves holding a link, which reduced the time to half a second to access open in new tab, or background tab.

    The free trial, last I checked was outdated, even for the iPhone version.

    Despite little bugs, it's been so much more productive than safari, and for a dollar, you get a universal app that works great on the iPhone.

    Just note, if you have the wifi ipad problem, when exiting the app to fix that, copy any message you might be writing since the page will reload. I have to do that now, the wifi is gone again.
     
  14. JReynolds macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    Where the Air Force sends me
    #15
  15. doug in albq Suspended

    doug in albq

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    #16


    That is Apple pushing bad reviews to the front and calling them "most helpful"
    I have never seen Apple do this to other apps. I wonder why Apple is doing this with the Atomic Web Browser--maybe it is that good!

    It is that good.

    apple is also taking forever to approve this apps update...?
     
  16. ren857 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    #17
    When you look at reviews on in the app store, be sure to sort them by "most recent". The reviews default to "most helpful", but a lot of those reviews may be for older versions that may not work as well.

    I don't know why it won't default to "most recent".
     
  17. peteo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    #18
    I hope they come out with cloud browse for the ipad. I have it for the iPhone before they removed it (their servers were getting hammered) it's basically a remote client that only opens up a web browser (fire fox) this let's you open up unlimited tabs watch flash video (with audio), run java apps etc.. Works fairly well and gets around apples limits.
     
  18. aleni thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #19
    well, i do have atomic web browser, even though it's amazing with its multitouch gesture sometimes thing that keeps me from using it is that when you hold a link to open it in the background, sometimes it doesn't work and you have to repeat, sometimes it works but it gives a black pop up menu. anyone experiencing this?
     
  19. mikethebigo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    #20
    I still wonder if a firmware update will fix this or if it's just stuck this way until iPad 2G.
     
  20. itsallinurhead macrumors 6502

    itsallinurhead

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #21
    Atomic browser would be great if it didn't forget what you had open every time it closed.
     
  21. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Other
    #22
    Yes I'm experiencing this too. Also the occasional incident of typing in a form field before page is fully loaded often wipes my text out after it is loaded. These are a couple of bugs which will hopefully be ironed out in a software update.

    I prefer the atomic browser to safari still though.

    My biggest gripe. That damn atomic browser icon does not look good. It just does not work with any of my other icons. I know thats an anal gripe, but it is my mist annoying.
     
  22. HXGuy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    #23
    know you can change this in the settings right?
     
  23. aleni thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #24
    yes it can, "LAST SESSION (ALL OPEN TABS).

    but after u quit the program, then reopen it, it will reload the pages all over again.
     
  24. HXGuy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    #25
    Of course, why wouldn't it? You are quitting the program. Doesn't the same thing happen on your laptop or desktop?

    Safari on the iPad doesn't reload when you relaunch because it never really quits the program, it just sort of suspends it..like OS 4.0 multitasking.
     

Share This Page