Safari on MacBook Pro i7

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by DJ-R, Sep 25, 2010.

  1. DJ-R macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    #1
    This topic is kinda fall in between software and the model.

    I'll generally ask here because I want to see if anyone has the same model I have experience chocking issue with Safari when browsing on some websites with flash. Such as this site here with all the dam Google flash ads.

    MacBook Pro
    Core i7
    4GB ram
    500gb @ 7200rpm


    powerful machine but safari is chocking up.
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
  3. iBunny macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #3
    I have had no issues since updating my flash from adobe.com to the latest flash 10.1 and the 10.2 64-bit preview (which I currently use)

    Heres the link to the 64-bit Flash 10.2 preview. Works real well for me: http://labs.adobe.com/downloads/flashplayer10.html
     
  4. Frosties macrumors 6502a

    Frosties

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    Sweden
    #4
    Firefox + Adblock

    What flash? I use firefox with adblock.
     
  5. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #5
    meet solution
    http://clicktoflash.com/

    also for some reason when I have my external drive plugged in safari will lag and my drive will spin up, as if safari needed a file on the drive?
     
  6. DJ-R thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    #6
    This is one reason why I am sticking back to Firefox...
     
  7. Str8edgepunker macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #7
    In my experience, part of this slowdown is due to the fact that Safari does not switch the graphics card from the integrated to the dedicated Nvidia graphics when playing certain intensive Flash content. Download gfxcardstatus and see if the problem occurs while using the Intel graphics and if it still occurs when you switch it to the Nvidia.

    Also, for Ad Blocking purposes, I prefer GlimmerBlocker as it's a proxy level ad blocker and not a browser plugin or InputManager hack. You can find it here: http://glimmerblocker.org/.
     
  8. DJ-R thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    #8
    This maybe true but I am running on External monitor. I have the app running all time and it is on nvidia card all time.
     
  9. NOTORIOUS187 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
  10. DJ-R thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    #10
    lol i meant choking
     
  11. iBunny macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #11
    Yeah, should be good with the nvidia card. The Intel gfx does not include hardware accelerated flash.

    But bleh, who uses that anyway. Automatic Graphics Switching off, NVidia all the time for the win.
     

Share This Page