Safari Open Popup Window Problem

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by Pagemakers, Jun 26, 2009.

  1. Pagemakers macrumors 68000

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #1
    I visit many websites and some of them use links to popup windows.

    However Safari always opens these popup windows either in a new tab or in a new full window and not the say 600*600 popup it was supposed to open in.

    Every other browser works as it should.

    For an example go here http://www.pagemakers.co.uk/test.htm

    The link should open in a new window or tab.

    The popup should open in a popup window.

    As you can see using safari, the popup window does not work.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    Worked for me. OSX.5 Safari 4. Both links open new windows.
     
  3. Pagemakers thread starter macrumors 68000

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #3
    What is supposed to happen is LINK opens in a new window or tab.

    POPUP opens in a 600*400 popup window and not a new window or tab.

    Is this what happened for you?
     
  4. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    It did exactly that.
     
  5. Pagemakers thread starter macrumors 68000

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #5
    I have 5 Macs all running OSX 10.5.7 and Safari 4 and none of them do what you have experienced.

    For me the POPUP does not open a 600 x 400 popup window.

    Can you post a screenshot?
     
  6. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    Ta da
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Pagemakers thread starter macrumors 68000

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #7
    HU!!

    What am I doing wrong :(

    Do you have any plugins etc that may be doing this?

    Can you tell me what your settins for popups/tabs are.

    Can you confirm your OSX version?
     
  8. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    • The only plug-in I use in Safari is SafariAdBlock
    • Browser is set to block pop-ups windows
    • On the Tabs tab in Preferences, all 3 check boxes are checked
    • Positive I'm running 10.5 Leopard
    Not sure what's going on on your end. Perhaps a caching issue?
     
  9. Pagemakers thread starter macrumors 68000

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #9
    Can you confirm that LINK opens in a new TAB or WINDOW?

    I want LINK to open in a new tab and POPUP to open in a popup.

    I can get POPUP to open in a popup but when I do LINK opens in a new window and not a new tab.

    Aghhh
     
  10. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    The LINK opens in new 'normal' size window. If I use a middle click (or cmd+click) it'll open in a new tab just as my Preferences are set for. This is the correct behavior of the browser as you are using a target of _blank. There's no syntax to force a new tab, it's a browser setting.
     
  11. Pagemakers thread starter macrumors 68000

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
  12. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #12
    As I said, there isn't. Tabs didn't exist when the syntax was being developed.
     
  13. Pagemakers thread starter macrumors 68000

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #13
    Disregard above...I mis-read your reply.

    If I use IE or Firefox LINK opens in a new tab and POPUP opens in a popup.

    Any idea how I can do that with safari?
     
  14. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #14
    Firefox is my primary and I have a add-on to force a single window mode so I never have any pop-ups or new windows, only tabs. The only way I'm aware of to do this with Safari is by using Terminal.
    Code:
    defaults write com.apple.Safari TargetedClicksCreateTabs -bool true
    And I just decided to do that as I prefer that way.
     
  15. Pagemakers thread starter macrumors 68000

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #15
    Thanks for your continued responses.

    Problem about the code you posted is then everything opens in a new tab! So POPUP opens in a tab and not a popup which makes a mess of many websites.

    Im not sure if it is by design or a bug of Safari. No other browser exhibits the same behaviour.
     
  16. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #16
    My Firefox does with the add-on I have. I don't think it messes things up, I think it tidies things. I hate pop-ups of all kinds, including the one you're using. It reminds of the days ads being popped up all the time. So that code does exactly what I like and others do too. I don't like losing separate windows behind the one I'm using. I like having everything right where I can see it. It's a personal preference though.
     

Share This Page