Safari opening websites on the wrong tab

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by Naramis, Jan 6, 2017.

  1. Naramis macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    #1
    I've used Mac and Safari for a few years on a MacBook Air and never had this issue, but now with a new MacBook Pro this is driving me crazy.

    This is how the bug goes:
    -Open new tab, tell Safari to open a website on it
    -Switch to another tab I had open (or even create a new tab)
    -The website opens on my current tab, instead of the one I originally told it to open on

    Has anyone experienced this as well?
     
  2. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #2
    No, I haven't seen that.
    What happens to the new tab you opened then?
    How long do you wait between going to the URL on the new tab before you switch back to the first tab you had open?
     
  3. rshrugged macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    #3
    Check what your settings are here:

    Safari -> Preferences -> General -> (In their individual dropdown menus) "New windows open with:" and "New tabs open with:"

    There are options there, including "Same Page". I don't know why you're getting the effect for a previously opened and addressed tab. Change those settings if they're on "Same Page" as a first troubleshooting step.
     
  4. Naramis thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    #4
    The new tab stays blank (showing my Favorites). If I wait a bit before switching back to the first tab, the problem doesn't happen, but if I switch immediatly it sometimes happens. It's like the command to open a website is delayed for a fraction of a second, and if I switch before that, the command gets sent to the wrong tab

    Both are set to open my favorites
     
  5. lplatellas macrumors newbie

    lplatellas

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    #5
    Hey there, second to op. First thought it was me clicking something wrong, but seems to be a bug doing it. Happened to me already twice today! System is 10.11.6 on iMac late 2013.
     
  6. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #6
    I've never experienced this.

    I'd set that preference to "Empty Page" and see if still does it. Then you could switch back to "Favorites" and test again.
     
  7. rshrugged macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    #7
    Other things to try :

    Disable all extensions; test. If better, reenable one at a time to find the culprit.

    Enable the Develop menu in the Safari menu bar: Safari -> Preferences -> Advanced -> at bottom of pane, tick "Show Develop menu in menu bar". After that, click what you just added to Safari's menu bar --"Develop"-- and select "Empty Caches" from the dropdown. Test.

    Boot into Safe mode and test, then reboot into normal mode and test.
    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201262
     
  8. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #8
    There you have it! You're too quick! Open the URL, take a drink of coffee, then click the tab. ;)
     
  9. BarracksSi Suspended

    BarracksSi

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    #9
    On some pages, cmd-click opens a new tab in the background with the link I've clicked and opens the same link in my current tab. Right-clicking and selecting "Open in new tab" usually works correctly, though.

    It's weird. I haven't opened the offending pages with the inspector panel open to see if they wrote their HTML differently.

    Probably not related to the OP's question, though...
     
  10. TWLreal macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    #10
    I have a feeling this will only be noticeable to a small subset of people like you and me.

    The latest version of Safari definitely changes the tab loading behaviour compared to past versions.

    I have a habit of entering URLs in the location bar, CMD + T and entering a new URL, rinse and repeat for several tabs. Safari screws it up now and loads the first page fully in the next tab rather than its original tab.
    --- Post Merged, Jan 12, 2017 ---
    I'd like to add that tabs loading in the background will even steal focus from your current tab. As in:
    • Enter a new URL, website starts loading
    • Create a new tab regardless of content
    • The tab loading in the background steals focus and takes over your current tab
    • The previous tab is now empty or defaults to what you set new tabs to open with
     
  11. Naramis thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    #11
    Yep, those are exactly the problems I see.

    Strangely, I didn't notice this on my MacBook Air just a few weeks ago, despite it being fully updated (both the OS and Safari). Only started noticing when I got a MacBook Pro (maybe because it's faster?)

    Anyway, glad to know I'm not alone..
     
  12. Rok73 macrumors 65816

    Rok73

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #12
    My Safari never does anything like that. But it's fascinating how everything's going down the loo although everyone's (imputing) basically got the same config with a couple of different installed programs.
     
  13. tobiaskrautwald macrumors newbie

    tobiaskrautwald

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2013
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #13
    I have the exact same problem. Can't quite say when it first appeared, but it has been driving me a little bit crazy. I'm running macOS 10.12.2 on a 15" MacBook Pro Late 2013.
     
  14. Brookzy macrumors 601

    Brookzy

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    Add me to the list of people experiencing this. I have a habit of loading a slow site, and switching to another tab to wait for the first to finish loading. The page that should be loading in the background then appears in the new tab. Very annoying.

    For me this only happens when you switch tabs while a webpage is still loading. When pages have finished loading the bug doesn't materialise.

    Will report the bug but in the meantime I guess I might have to exercise some patience! :eek:
     
  15. Barena macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    #15
    Happening to me too on both MBA and iMac.
     
  16. peymayesh macrumors newbie

    peymayesh

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Location:
    /bin/
    #16
    Happened to me (Sierra), so I reverted to 10.11.6.
    It's a painful bug! I couldn't stand it, but I've experienced this issue once again in 10.11.6 :|
    (But hopefully just once, or maybe it was my fault)
     
  17. ntrn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    #17
    Same happens to me on a rMBP and on an iMac. I don't remember it happening on 10.11, so it really must be Sierra related.
     
  18. nabtron macrumors newbie

    nabtron

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
  19. Strangeite macrumors newbie

    Strangeite

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    #19
    This bug is particularly annoying because it almost always takes over the tab where I keep Gmail open.
     
  20. tekchic macrumors 65816

    tekchic

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #20
    This is also happening to me, and I agree -- completely annoying. Typically I'll have some site up where I've paged through at least a dozen or more pages of results, and then load a site in another tab, only to have it take over the tab I was on, and make it so I'm unable to click "Back" on that old tab to get back to what I was doing.

    I never noticed this odd behavior before Sierra. Tempted to move back to Chrome as my primary browser on my home MBPr (it's my primary on my work MBPr), it happens often enough to be mildly infuriating.
     
  21. yep-sure macrumors 6502

    yep-sure

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #21
    Just came across this thread, and have to say this is one of my most annoying Sierra bugs. Along with Time Machine not showing up once you plug it back in (requiring restart) and how Safari uses up about 50% of your RAM until you close and re-open it again.
     
  22. rapha-35 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    #22
    Same problem here, really annoying.

    Plus the fact that I have to press two times Enter when opening a new tab and making a search from adress bar.
     
  23. hwojtek macrumors 65816

    hwojtek

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    A small rural village in western Poland
    #23
    Same thing happening here. I have a slow connection and it seems that if I switch the tab before Safari fully spawns a new web process and it connects - the newly opened tab stays empty and the tab I switched to loads the website supposed to be open in the new tab.
    I can recreate it in El Cap and Sierra.
     
  24. James.K.Polk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    #24
    Yes! So glad I'm not the only one. 10.12.3. So annoying.
     
  25. DJTaurus macrumors 65816

    DJTaurus

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012

Share This Page