Safari pages constantly reload

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Skandocious, Apr 4, 2010.

  1. Skandocious macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    #1
    If I open multiple pages in safari and then switch between them, they reload on every page switch. Sometimes I'll get a lucky and a page won't reload, but more often than not it will reload even if the thumbnail image shows that's it fully loaded. On my iPhone the pages will stay loaded until I actually close safari and open it back up, at which point they will all reload.

    I've also noticed that safari does not run in the background very long, unlike my iPhone which will keep safari running until it needs the extra ram that safari is using. If I go back home and open the App Store to look at something then come back to safari, it has to restart and all of my tabs have to get reloaded.

    Is everyone else experiencing this same behavior? I find it pretty strange that apple implemented it this way on such a powerful device.
     
  2. ImperialX macrumors 65816

    ImperialX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #2
    It's due to the RAM. At only 256MB, it can't render too many web pages at once.
     
  3. Slava macrumors member

    Slava

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    #3
    Well, iPhone also has 256mb of RAM, but it doesn't reload pages constantly.
     
  4. Skandocious thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    #4
    Yeah you would think that 256mb would be plenty. It's MORE than enough on my 3GS. But ive got several pages open and I just checked Pad Info and it says 16mb of free ram :mad:

    Then again-- I just looked again and according to pad info this device only has 128mb... Did the developer screw up his math or did apple pull a fast one on us?
     
  5. flyguy206 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
  6. ayasinsk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    #6
    The iPad has 512mb ram, it has been confirmed when the ipad was disassembled by ifixit.com. But regarding pages reloading all the time it does that if you have more then 2 pages loaded, same with iPhone, very annoying.
     
  7. Stetrain macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #7
    iFixit corrected their page, the iPad has 256mb of RAM.
     
  8. colourtheatre macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    #8
    I've seen my iPhone 3gs load 8 safari tabs with no reloading. so many people complaining about the iPad ram is making me awfully worried now:S
     
  9. HXGuy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    #9
    Yea I find that very annoying as well.

    What if I see something on a page and want to "save" it for later to show to someone? If it refreshes, then the content could be lost (say its a news site). Very stupid.

    Also, I hate how it always defaults to the top of a webpage, especially on the forums. On the desktop, if I refresh, it takes me to the last post I saw...usually toward the bottom if its a long post. With the iPad, I have to scroll all the way to the bottom everytime.
     
  10. spacepower7 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    #10
    Two comments

    1st
    I have the same thing happening and this is going to kill ATT network when the 3G iPad comes out.

    2nd
    Why does Safari on my Mac reload the entire webpages when it's taking up hundreds of megs in ram and over a GB in virtual memory. Never understood modern web browsers. Remember back when you could easily find 2 day old jpegs in the cache folder in os 7.5
     
  11. admanimal macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    #11
    The short answer is that the web is much more dynamic and complicated than it was back then. A lot of content is generated dynamically and harder to cache, and the use of content distribution networks means that URLs to the "same" content can change across page refreshes.
     
  12. doug in albq Suspended

    doug in albq

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    #12
    Atomic Web does not reload pages on the ipad, it has real tabs and they do not reload...Apple needs to fix this with Safari, I think.
     
  13. lilo777 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    #13
    Not to worry. You can not save it from the browser anyways :D
     
  14. 2jzgze macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    #14
    Werd! You guys should go dl the atomic browser. This thread will be obsolete. :)
     
  15. MythicFrost macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #15
    So, if a third party can write a web browser that has tabs that don't reload. Then is it some kind of weird design, or simply a bug which will get fixed eventually -- the latter I hope.
     
  16. Simgar988 macrumors 65816

    Simgar988

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Location:
    UYBAATC
    #16
    How many pages are you using?
     
  17. peestandingup macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    #17
    It's a bug that hasn't become official yet. Happens to me too at times, even with just one tab open. The loading icon never goes away, even when the page finishes loading.

    The only way I've found to fix it os to restart the iPad.
     
  18. BlackJacques macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    #18
    An annoyance for sure. I find I can usually run two tabs without any reloading, sometimes three. Using one of the tabs to watch embedded video or clicking to deep into a website will cause other tabs to reload when switching back. When that happens, I usually kill Safari the tried and true way, by holding the Sleep button down until the "turn off" screen appears, then hold down the Home button until Safari is killed. I find that obviously much faster than re-booting the iPad and just as effective.
     
  19. ugp macrumors 65816

    ugp

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Inverness, Florida
    #19
    Safari and Mail crash when loading several images in a single page or email.

    Say 40+ or more.
     
  20. vsebastian macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    #20
    Restart iPad solves this problem

    I concur with the previous post. The restart works.
     
  21. Battlestar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Location:
    Boston
    #21
    Try the Atomic browser, it is a must have app.
     

Share This Page