Safari question (noobish)

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by rudini, Oct 16, 2007.

  1. rudini macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #1
    Hey all,

    I plan on getting an iMac once leopard is out and it's somewhat closer to x-mas, but I've started using Safari beta on my current windos xp machine. As a long time windows user, I was wondering if there was an equivalent for "Crtl+Enter" on the Safari browser.

    For example,
    On XP with IE7, if you type macrumors on the address bar, then hit "Crtl+Enter", IE7 fills in the www. and the .com for you. No mouse needed.

    Is there anything like that for Safari on OSX?

    Thank you!
    -rudy
     
  2. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Safari (at least on OSX) does this automatically :)
     
  3. italiano40 macrumors 65816

    italiano40

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    NY
  4. oceanmonster macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    #4
    safari does it for you automatically.

    if you type macrumors in the address bar, safari will automatically put in the www. and .com

    no need for control enter.
     
  5. rudini thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #5
    Hmmm....

    so just to clarify...

    If i type:

    macrumors and hit ENTER, it does the www. and the .com for me?

    if so, that's kinda neat!

    -rudy
     
  6. todd2000 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Location:
    Danville, VA
    #6
    Yep! Just tried it my-self. I never knew it did that. Ya learn something new every day. I haven't tried it in Windows, but don't understand why it wouldn't work. Either way at least you know it will work when you get your Mac.
     
  7. Eric5h5 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #7
    Yes. :) You can see a tiny delay when you do that; I guess Safari looks for "whatever" first and figures, "nothing called 'whatever' that I can find, must have meant 'www.whatever.com' so I'll use that instead".

    --Eric
     
  8. PeggyD macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    Covington, WA, USA
    #8
    It works in FireFox on my work PC but not in IE 6.
     

Share This Page