safari question on touch

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by thebusdriver16, Sep 14, 2007.

  1. thebusdriver16 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #1
    Do you have to have a certain service to get internet on your touch, or can you just connect to your wireless internet like i could with something like my psp???
     
  2. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
    #2
    The latter.
     
  3. thebusdriver16 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #3
    am i just stupid.....or does this make absolutely no sense to anyone else. if so can you please explain
     
  4. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
    #4
    The latter = the second of two choices.

    You can join any wifi network, like with your PSP.
     
  5. R.Youden macrumors 68020

    R.Youden

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
  6. thebusdriver16 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #6
    ooo i feel a bit stupid now....anyways thanks man
     
  7. madmaxmedia macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #7
    the former... ;)
     
  8. iShak macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    #8
    haha .. well said mate!
     
  9. GoinDownSlow macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #9
    I'm concerned. My workplace requires that you download a program (VPN Client) on your desktop/laptop in order to access the internet. I probably can't download such a thing on the Touch, hence it would be useless there...
     
  10. Arisian macrumors 68000

    Arisian

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Location:
    China
    #10
    The farmer...
     
  11. AppleMatt389 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #11
    same problem with me and my university. i imagine it wont work. oh well..its still a bloody sexy ipod..sans safari and wifi.
     
  12. caMi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    #12
    That is wrong!

    Is that software Windows only? Will it work with mac or linux?
     
  13. AppleMatt389 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #13
    nuh my university requires that we download the cisco vpn client to log into the network. it works on mac and pc..and we also have to set up the proxies for the network too. its ridiculous..theyre very tight about it.

    so since the ipod touch wont have a vpn client that will be supported by my tightas* uni..i wont be getting onto wifi at uni. now i have to carry laptop around the whole time :(
     
  14. caMi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    #14
    I was not saying you were wrong, I was saying it was morally wrong.. :0
     
  15. AppleMatt389 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #15
    i know you werent..sorry if u thought i miss understood you which in turn caused another misunderstanding. :)

    i was just enlightening you all to the sorry state of my uni.

    and yes..its very morally wrong.
     
  16. trevorlsciact macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando FL
    #16
    I wouldn't go that far. More like annoying.
     
  17. i0Nic macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #17
    zing!
     
  18. i0Nic macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #18
    What uni?
     
  19. AppleMatt389 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #19
    Monah Uni.

    And to the person telling me I was incorrect in saying its "morally wrong", I was just agreeing with the person above me, let's not get narky on it.

    :apple:Matt
     

Share This Page