Safari redirects to my Applications folder?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by The Beatles, Sep 8, 2011.

  1. The Beatles macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #1
    Hi everyone,

    I can't see to access http://www.finance.yahoo.com anymore. Every time i try, i would get a Safari error window saying that too many redirects occurred.


    What I have tried:
    Emptied cash
    Deleted Prefs
    Deleted the whole Safari folder in my user library


    Now that I've deleted the whole Safari folder in the library i get this message. Please pay special attention to the URL field. Its actually directing me to the safari application itself.


    Things to note:
    Im actually using Safari for all other pages just fine. Im typing this right now with Safari.

    This doesn't occur when i use FireFox.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    Since you deleted the Safari folder in your user Library (which you shouldn't have), reinstall Safari.
     
  3. The Beatles, Sep 8, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2011

    The Beatles thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #3
    if i just type in the URL

    http://www.finance.yahoo.com

    I get the same error message but the URL shows up as it should. Which is http://www.finance.yahoo.com. But I still get the Safari error shown above (minus the funky URL anomaly).




    I just went to download safari and the apple safari page only has safari as a 5.1 SNOW LEOPARD download. How are Lion users suppose to download?
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    Deleting the .plist is helpful in some cases, but deleting the whole folder is unnecessary.
     
  5. The Beatles thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #5
    Thanks, so how do you recommend redownloading safari? All i see is a Snow Leopard install for Safari.

    http://www.apple.com/safari/download/
     
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    It's not restricted to SL. That's the link.
     
  7. The Beatles thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #7
    Thats weird. It says here that its Snow Leapord. I tried installing it and the installer said that it needs 10.6 to install safari
     

    Attached Files:

  8. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
    Which OS version are you running?
     
  9. The Beatles thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #9
    In post #3 I stated Lion. Here is a recap of what has happened.


    http://www.finance.yahoo.com gives me a Safari error. The error states

    "Too many redirects occurred trying to open "http://finance.yahoo.com/". This might occur if you open a page that is redirected to open another page which then is redirected to open the original page."


    My system specs:

    OSX Lion
    iMace 27"


    Going to the http://www.apple.com/safari/download/ i get the webpage displayed in post #7 above. Please note, it says Safari for Snow Leopard.
     
  10. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #10
    Sorry, I didn't notice your edit to that post. I believe Lion has its own recovery process, but I can't help you with that, since I've elected not to switch to Lion.
     
  11. The Beatles thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #11
    Holding out are you? :) Yeah your right, i did edit that post. Alright then, thanks for your time GGJstudios.
     
  12. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #12
    Yes, I don't upgrade unless I have a specific need to do so. So far, I haven't seen anything in Lion that I want or need.
    This may help get you started: OS X Lion: About Lion Recovery Disk Assistant
     
  13. The Beatles thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #13
    So Safari is running fine on all sites but the finance.yahoo.com home page. If anyone has an idea of what could be the problem please let me know. Every other web page works fine. You can see the error message i get by viewing the original post.

    Best,

    the beatles.
     
  14. The Beatles thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #14
    Everything is back to normal. I didn't have to reinstall, i didn't do anything other than what i listed above. And the above didn't change anything.

    It just all the sudden started working again, after two days. VERY STRANGE.
     

Share This Page