Safari - same old issues persist

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by Mike Haas, Oct 18, 2014.

  1. Mike Haas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    #1
    I would love to use Safari as my main browser. I think the redesign is wonderful and introduces a very cogent way of browsing, taking into consideration your bookmarks.

    However - Safari still seems plagued by failing to load or properly render the page on many, many sites. On some, it may finally load completely but only after a considerable amount of time. Often, it will return an error that it can't find the server on a particular site. When that happens, returning to Chrome or Firefox returns that same error for a few minutes then all is well. Its as if its affecting the IP stack somehow. I've checked this in reverse, loading the site several times in Chrome and Firefox, then I return to Safari and the same issue occurs.

    I live in Germany - I'm curious if the issue is my service provider. But Chrome and Firefox never fail like this. Anyone else? I've combed a few other blogs and others seem to have had the same complaint for the last 2 or 3 iterations of this browser.
    Mike Haas is online now Report Post
     
  2. T'hain Esh Kelch macrumors 601

    T'hain Esh Kelch

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Location:
    Denmark
  3. Mike Haas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    #3
    I have - many times over the past 2 years whenever a new Safari version has become available. It does not fix the issue.
     
  4. Zxxv macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    I never had this problem until Yosemite

    :D how cool ... not
     
  5. Mike Haas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    #5
    Apparently in the past, Apple's recommendation in this case was to load an alternate "free" DNS IP. As many painfully found out, those alternate DNS providers only lead to the "redirect" malware issue.
     
  6. Zxxv macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    I just had it on apples own website apple.com
     
  7. Nozuka macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    #7
    i had the same thing happen to me when i tried safari for a few minutes. had to disable and enable wifi because it ********* up my other browsers as well.

    never really used safari in mavericks, can't say if this problem is new.
     
  8. Mike Haas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    #8
    Yeah - same here, then. Suffered it in Mavericks and now in Yosemite. I'd really like to use Safari but its extensions are lame and I'm also suspicious that it doesn't really handle Flash or Java very well.
     
  9. T'hain Esh Kelch macrumors 601

    T'hain Esh Kelch

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Location:
    Denmark
    #9
    Try changing your DNS to something else, Googles for instance: 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
     
  10. Mike Haas, Oct 18, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2014

    Mike Haas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    #10
    I appreciate the reply, but that's precisely the advice that Apple gives. We don't have to do that in any other browser, why should we have to do that in Safari? I do appreciate the time you took to reply, but its unacceptable on the part of Apple.
     
  11. T'hain Esh Kelch macrumors 601

    T'hain Esh Kelch

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Location:
    Denmark
    #11
    In that case I would try to reset Safari. Do you also have the same issue on other networks than your own?
     
  12. randomgeeza macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #12
    I had the same issue on Safari 7 on Mavericks. I found that adding in OpenDNS IP's remedied the problem.
     
  13. filosnet macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    #13
    I have exactly the same problem. I found that it occurs only when I am connected to the corporate VPN. Otherwise, it works fine. On the contrary, both Chrome and Firefox work fine regardless. Did you find any solution?

    Luca
     
  14. filosnet macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    #14
    It seems that this fixed the issue for me. Now everything works fine.
     

Share This Page