Safari / Sharepoint Issue - Keeps requesting log in details..

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by The Cobra, Mar 27, 2009.

  1. The Cobra macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    #1
    Hi guys. I have tried searching for this, apologies if it has come up before.

    Ok, I have just bought a new MBP, but I've been having this issue for the last year on my iMac trying to access my companies Intranet through Safari. (Or firefox for that matter..)

    From an MS blog - http://blogs.msdn.com/sharepoint/archive/2006/07/19/671735.aspx

    Windows SharePoint Services v3 should work according to that link with Safari+2.

    This is the version we are using for our intranet,... but my Safari just will not allow it. It is forever requesting me for Name and Password. However when I type the said details in, it just pops up and prompts me once again. So I'm guessing this is an authentication issue?

    It's becoming really annoying and I'd really like to get around it without having to run XP along side OSX just for a bloody Intranet page...

    Please move if this in the incorrect folder.

    I will be making another help topic once this has been sorted as I am also having stupid amounts of trouble with my work Email/Exchange/IMAP on mail.

    Thanks in advance. If I can give any more info then please ask.

    Scott.
     
  2. The Cobra thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    #2
  3. The Cobra thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
  4. dr. shdw macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #4
    SharePoint should work with Safari 3 or 4/FF3. Ask your IT people if the SharePoint server is up to date?
     
  5. The Cobra thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    #5
    Yeah I've asked and we're using V3.

    Could it be something to do with the authentication? I think we are using NTML or something similar sounding to that.
     
  6. nuclearwinter macrumors regular

    nuclearwinter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Location:
    Milky Way
    #6
    This is how I do it

    Instead of typing in just your username, type in the the domain name also, like this:

    domain\username

    I know this works with Safari 4. I'm looking at Sharepoint right now with v4.
     
  7. dr. shdw macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #7
    I thought this was only on PCs, but I could be wrong. Also I'm assuming the account is linked to an Active Directory?
     
  8. whitefang macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    #8
    Yes, it's linked to active directory. And it's always been a requirement to use the DOMAIN\USERNAME format.
     
  9. The Cobra thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    #9
    Hey.. I've actually tried that and it didn't work. Still kept on prompting me for username and password.

    Any more ideas?
     
  10. The Cobra thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
  11. dr. shdw macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #11
    I've only seen this issue manifest on PCs trying to log into Outlook running Exchange but the PC not being tied to the domain, other than that, I've never seen this happen.
     
  12. The Cobra thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009

Share This Page