Safari 'tab' refreshing driving me nuts

Discussion in 'iPad' started by MikeTemple, Jul 14, 2010.

  1. MikeTemple macrumors member

    MikeTemple

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Location:
    In the cloud
    #1
    I just got through typing a reply in here, and wanted to copy and paste a link from another Safari tab. When I switched back to the forum, the web page refreshed and lost all my edits.

    Is it right that IOS 4 fixes this on the iPhone 4, because it's very frustrating!
     
  2. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #2
    For the most part it does. Its stores the page in memory. Use enough apps, open enough web pages, etc., and it eventually has to release that memory to use it elsewhere, making the page refresh if you need it. But overall, its much improved.
     
  3. DannySmurf macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    #3
    It does have to release the memory eventually. But this could have been handled more gracefully, like saving the page to disk and reloading from there. A reparse from disk is much faster than a re-pull from the network. Other browsers handle this problem.
     
  4. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #4
    Why save it to disk? Seems like a waste. If you really waited so long that you ran out of memory, does it really mater? At least this way you get a non-outdated page.
     
  5. BeachChair macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #5
    I sold my iPad for this very reason. Honestly the current generation iPad looks ****ed in this regard. How is it going to handle multitasking when it can hardly hold 2-3 websites in memory?
    The iPad is a good deal more starved for memory than a iPhone 3GS, probably close to as starved as a iPhone 3G.
     
  6. saberahul macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    You're so wrong. Well, I suggest trying someone's iPad with iOS4 when it comes out. Until then, voila!
     
  7. Zerg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    #7
    FYI this has nothing or very little to do with memory and more how Safari is programmed. I didn't believe it at first but download and try Atomic Web Browser. It's pretty much what I use 95% of the time. I can have 5-10 tabs open and go back and forth through them without any refreshing.

    About the only downside is the bookmarks won't sync in iTunes. They have implemented a semi-workaround where you can export your bookmarks to a file, launch the app and select something like import bookmarks, it then directs you to a url with a pin. You put in the pin, upload your bookmarks and it will pull them down into the browser. It's sorta dumb and a pain for sure but until Apple allows 3rd party browsers the ability to sync bookmarks, this is about as good as it's going to get. I'd at least give it a try. There is a lite version:

    http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/atomic-web-browser-lite-fullscreen/id355513788?mt=8

    I suspect Safari will get a rework when iOS 4 comes to the iPad later this year.

    Cheers
     
  8. henneth macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    #8
    Thats a pretty stupid reason to sell it. There are a few other browsers out there that allow many tabs, without refreshing them at all.
     
  9. nixiemaiden macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #9
    Has anyone had any problems with online shopping with this? I bought something on ebay yesterday and I think safari reloaded and reposted my data because ebay has 2 transactions like 20 seconds apart (I only hit the submit button 1 time). I'm just wondering if this might be what caused it or if something else happened.
     
  10. BeachChair macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #10
    I've tried those browsers. Problem is they crash alot... because they use too much memory.
     
  11. BeachChair macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #11
    How am I wrong?

    The iPhones, 3G and 3GS, have 320x480 resolution, that is 153,600 pixels.
    The iPad has 1024x768, that is 786 432 pixels, or 5.12 times as many pixels.
    That means whenever the iPad saves a tab or the homescreen in the framebuffer it requires about 5 times more memory.
    Thats why the iPads safari reloads tabs much ofter than iPhone 3GS, and thats why there is a potential problem with multitasking where saved states and backgrounding apps would have to take up a share of the already limited free memory.

    They might be able to fix that with caching on the flash storage, but so far it hasn't been a sollution they've seemed to wanna use.
     
  12. EssentialParado macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    #12
    WOW.

    You realize the iPhone is viewing the exact same website the iPad is seeing, right? Unless you're looking at a mobile version of the page on the iPhone, the memory requirements for the webpages is identical between the devices.

    Furthermore, iOS4 handles multitasking in the same way for Safari and other browsers as it does for games or most other frozen state apps.
     
  13. BeachChair macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #13
    That's not exactly how it works, first it renders the website, then it stores it in memory. A website rendered at a higher resolution takes more memory.
     
  14. yoavcs macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Location:
    Israel
    #14

    Ummmm, let's see now, how should I phrase this. How about: NO. You are wrong.

    And Safari isn't saving the tabs in the framebuffer, that's ludicrous.

    Don't just throw around big words you read on the interwebs. If you don't know what you are talking about just ask.

    As per the Safari problem: it is a bug in iOS 3.2 Safari's page cache which is set at 26 KB. A ridiculously small amount, and about 1/20th of what iOS 4 has on on the 3GS (on the iPhone 4 its even bigger due to more RAM).

    This wasn't true for iOS 3.1, and is new to 3.2. It is a bug. On e of the few naggling iPad bugs that Apple doesn't seem interested in fixing with a point release. No idea why, the iPad is a success, it should be treated and supported as one.
     
  15. BeachChair macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #15
    Well I have my information from daringfireball.net. Where did you find out about this supposed bug?

    Here is the excerpt about Mobile Safari and memory from John Grubers iPad review:

     
  16. henneth macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    #16
    I've been using atomic browser and i could count the number of crashes on one hand. At the moment I have 5 tabs open and it's fine.

    Im with you on the ram. I think it cripples what could be a powerful device. The biggest beef is being on a page with lots of images, some end up being little blue boxes. Ultimate web surfing experience my ass.
     
  17. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Other
    #17
    New iPad 3.2.1 corrects safaris cache size finally.
     

Share This Page