Safari Tabs Not Grouping?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by Laurence Eckert, Nov 8, 2014.

  1. Laurence Eckert macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2014
    #1
    How come Safari isn't grouping any of my tabs from the same websites? Is this just a bug or is there a setting somewhere?
     
  2. bmac89, Nov 11, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2014

    bmac89 macrumors 6502a

    bmac89

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    #2
    I was just searching for this feature as well. I have used Opera browser in the past and have got very use to tabs grouping. Unfortunetly I don't think this feature currently exists. May be worth providing feedback requesting this feature be considered for future releases.

    Edit: Ok, that is really odd. Tab grouping is working soon after posting the above. Maybe it is a bug after all.
    Anyone else share thoughts / experience?
     
  3. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #3
    I presume you mean the Show All Tabs function? I don’t think it necessarily groups the same sites together, but rather follows your navigation flow. If you open a site from within another site then these are grouped together in a stack.
     
  4. bmac89 macrumors 6502a

    bmac89

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    #4
    I can't speak for the OP... but I didn't mean the Show All Tabs function and I assume the OP was not either.
    I meant the actual order of the tabs.

    When opening a new tab it was putting the new tab at the end, rather than next to the active tab. I'm thinking maybe it is a bug because after my post it seems to be working.
     
  5. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #5
    I think it only opens a new tab next to your currently active tab when you open a link from that page you’re on. If you open more than one tab, they are added always to the right of the last tab. Clicking on the + sign (or cmd + t) always opens a new tab at the end instead. This seems to me how it always worked and is supposed to work, so I presume it was just a bug on your end.
     
  6. bmac89 macrumors 6502a

    bmac89

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    #6
    Sorry, there is a misunderstanding. I am referring to opening a link into a new tab. It was opening the link and placing the tab at the end of all the tabs (far right) instead of next to the active tab from which I opened the link.
    I can only assume it was an intermittent bug because it is working correctly now.
     
  7. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #7
    I understand what you mean, that’s why I explained how it is supposed to work in my previous post. It must be a bug then.
     
  8. bmac89 macrumors 6502a

    bmac89

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    #8
    Silly me - I need some sleep!

    Thanks for the reply.
     

Share This Page