Safari Top Sites SUCKS!!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Mad Mac Maniac, Sep 9, 2009.

  1. Mad Mac Maniac macrumors 601

    Mad Mac Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    A little bit of here and a little bit of there.
    #1
    Ok has anybody been having problems with Safari's new Top Sites feature? I've had Safari 4 since the day it came out on public beta, and this feature hasn't seemed to get any better... If anything it has gotten worse in my experience.

    My gripe?? It's SLOW!!! I seriously dread having to open a new tab, because it automatically opens the awful top sites list. I close my eyes and cross my fingers and pray that I don't get the beachball of death for anywhere from 10-20 seconds. Sometimes it works quickly, especially if I keep testing it over and over.

    It's not really that helpful either. It pretty much just displays a visual of the bookmarks that I already have displayed going across the top of my screen, and I usually just click on the bookmark instead of having to hunt down the page and click on it.

    Is anybody else experiencing this slowness??
     
  2. NT1440 macrumors G4

    NT1440

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Location:
    Hartford, CT
    #2
    If it bothers you so much go into preferences and change what new tabs open up as.....
     
  3. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #3
    Are you running SL or just Leopard? Mine comes up instantly without any slowdown or loading time.
     
  4. iPhone 62S macrumors 6502a

    iPhone 62S

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    #4
    Safari in general sucks IMO, get Firefox, it's a lot more secure too, plus you can theme it like you want and get loads of add-ons.
     
  5. NT1440 macrumors G4

    NT1440

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Location:
    Hartford, CT
    #5
    Care to elaborate on the underlined? I love just about everything about it. What is it that leaves you unhappy?
     
  6. iPhone 62S macrumors 6502a

    iPhone 62S

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    #6
    Security flaws (still vunrable to carpet bombing for example) is the main issue, but I just also prefer Firefox's customisability (themes) and wide variety of add-ons (NoScript also really adds to the security thing too).

    I will admit that the new UI is better though.
     
  7. creon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    #7
    Only thing that i have to complain about is when I click on a top site it takes a while for the site to load.

    I fixed it by just having a blank tab come up.
     
  8. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #8
    Ah Firefox. The browser that started throwing up page load errors ever since yesterday (not connection related), and the browser that crashes at least 3 times a day for me.
    I'll stick with Safari ;).

    OP; You can change the homepage so it doesn't load up the Top Sites. Personally I couldn't do without it now (my old homepage used to be a list of my most visited sites stored on my server).
     
  9. iPhone 62S macrumors 6502a

    iPhone 62S

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    #9
    You have something wrong with your instillation then, reinstall and make sure to clear all the plist files too. This is not a reason for the OP to stay with Safari just because your instillation on your computer is broken.
     
  10. Surely Guest

    Surely

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #10
    I haven't found Top Sites to be useful at all. When this feature was announced, I had high hopes for it.

    I find that when I launch a site from the Top Sites page, it takes longer for it to load than if I were to select it from a bookmark or type it in.
     
  11. moderniste macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    #11
    I really like top sites and find it useful, but it freezes up often and is so slow. And the search history thing shows up in random places, sometimes in the middle of the page and other times far to the right of the safari window. I was hoping that it would be better after I upgraded to Snow Leopard, but the problems are still there.
     
  12. stuarthatto macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    #12
    Fair point, but you could have equally told the OP to reinstall Safari which would probably have fixed the issue he is seeing.

    Firefox has just as many if not more security bugs as Safari so thats a moot argument frankly - I will agree that up to now Apple havent patched as quickly as the Open Source community but they are getting more frequent.

    And to answer the OP - I love topsites and do not have any performance probs with it as a feature.
     
  13. Cheffy Dave macrumors 68030

    Cheffy Dave

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida, on the Gulf Coast in Homosassa Fl
    #13
    Take the "S" out of Maths:rolleyes:
     
  14. Mad Mac Maniac thread starter macrumors 601

    Mad Mac Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    A little bit of here and a little bit of there.
    #14
    I am running SL.

    I'm thinking about changing the preference to a blank tab.
     
  15. iPhone 62S macrumors 6502a

    iPhone 62S

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    #15
    I don't get what you're trying to say here :confused:
     
  16. jlpoore89 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Location:
    Beaumont, Texas
    #16
    He's talking about the quote on teachers in you signature...which is funny lol


    Anyways, back on subject. I find Top Sites fairly useful. And am I the only one who finds Firefox very processor hungry?? When I open Firefox it uses about 30-50% of my processor. And that's with only one tab open on MacRumors.com I mean its bad enough that when I open FF I can hear my fans immediately speeding up.

    I use Safari because from my experience it is much more processor efficient and every bit as fast if not faster than FF.
     
  17. JPark macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    #17
    Love Topsites, Here's Why:

    I love Topsites and have a hard time getting by without it. I never got around to using RSS, and Topsites fills that need for me quite nicely. I have roughly 5 or 6 sites that I like to check several times a day. When I have a break, I just open a new tab and I can instantly see which sites have been updated and are worth taking a look at. Then I Ctrl+click the ones I want and they open in new tabs. I've never noticed if they take longer to load because by the time I'm done picking which ones I want, they've loaded.

    I suspect the original poster might have a slower internet connection, and that is what is causing the Topsites page to take so long to load.
     
  18. Hemingray macrumors 68030

    Hemingray

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Ha ha haaa!
    #18
    My biggest gripe about Top Sites is you can't add a local HTML file (file://)as one of the Top Sites. It must be http:// or similar.

    To get around this I have web sharing enabled, so I can add http://localhost/whatever. But it would still be nice.
     
  19. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #19
    I set mine to open to bookmarks

    Instead of top sites, I never close the regularly visited sites from tabs, when I open Safari I go to: History / Reopen All Windows from Last Session
     
  20. Tomb85 Guest

    Tomb85

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    #20
    I dunno about slowness but I do not like that the porn hub is always at the top of the list... :eek:
     
  21. jlpoore89 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Location:
    Beaumont, Texas
    #21
    HAHA that's no damn lie!!!:D:D
     
  22. exegete77 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    #22
    In the European community of universities, maths is the correct word. Unless we desire US English be the standard for that too. ;)
     
  23. jlpoore89 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Location:
    Beaumont, Texas
    #23
    I was just pointing out to him what the other guy was commenting about. I could care less how it's spelled because it is a funny quote
     
  24. iPhone 62S macrumors 6502a

    iPhone 62S

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    #24
    Sorry to do this, but...
    [​IMG]

    To the guy who told me to take the S out, then as the other guy said (can't be bothered to check usernames, on the iPhone :D) "maths" is correct spelling in England, where, funnily enough, English was created.

    Oh, and glad you liked the teacher quote :D

    Anyway, back on topic!
     
  25. Arjy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    #25
    on my early 2007 white core 2 imac running SL i actually get artifacts when i open top sites, only for a second or two before it loads but its slightly concerning
     

Share This Page