SAFARI UPDATE -> OS X Dead

Discussion in 'macOS' started by markwise, Mar 21, 2010.

  1. markwise macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    Almere / Netherlands
    #1
    Today I ran the safari update on my MBA (snow leopard).
    After that MBA won't start.

    I see a white screen with the apple symbol and the sort of turning clock symbol (not the beachball) turning .
    after some time a horizontal line appears to be filled in , but it won't fill in \\(only for a sixth)

    The apple symbol remains on srceen for ever but no next screen

    did already do several restarts no success
    what else can I try ?
     
  2. smogsy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #2
    the line that goes across sound like firmware update screen.


    It looks like you may not rebooted for a firmware upgrade & now its trying with safari update to its having problems.

    There is a firmware fixer somewhere but wait for more knowledgeable advice incase im wrong.

    [​IMG]

    does it look like above ( if so its a firmware problem)

    you could try this
    Turn the computer completely off. Hold the power button to force it to shut off, if necessary.
    Step
    2
    Turn the computer back on.
    Step
    3
    Press the "Command," "Option," "P" and "R" keys on the keyboard simultaneously, and hold them down. Do this immediately after pressing the power button. After a few moments, the computer will restart, and you will hear the Mac start-up chime again. Release the keys, and the laptop should boot.

    Note: On some Mac laptops, the Command key will have an Apple logo rather than the word "Command."
     
  3. markwise thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    Almere / Netherlands
    #3
    Yes this exactly what I am seeing .
    Unfortunately the key combination suggestion doen's do the trick

    Chimes are there but the line won't be filled in more than
    what can be seen on the image in your reply

    Markwise
     
  4. cjmillsnun macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #4
    Hate to say it. But I think you need to get professional help. Is your MBA under warranty or AppleCare?
     
  5. markwise thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    Almere / Netherlands
    #5
    yes apple care

    will see apple premium reseller today
     
  6. Damo01 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    that strange...

    If there is no way around booting into your Mac Operating System than, there nothing much you do other than reinstalling the Mac OS from the installation media disc.
     
  7. Cynicalone macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
  8. markwise thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    Almere / Netherlands
    #8
    OS Xalive

    THX for all your suggestions.

    I decided to re install Leopard and afterwards copy all data via Timemachine.

    it is up and running fine now

    MARKWISE
     

Share This Page