Safari using 1gb of RAM

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by BigDrives, Jul 23, 2011.

  1. BigDrives macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    #1
    Just like the title says.... Is this normal or a bug?:confused:
     
  2. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #2
    It does that. Safari tends to be a pretty nice resource hog. Currently I am using FF with 4-5 tabs at a time and it's using just under 400MB.
     
  3. BigDrives thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    #3
    :eek:
     
  4. mmduluth macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    #4
    I’m using Safari with 6 tabs and I’m at 548 mb.
     
  5. yousifabdullah macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    #5
    Thank you for pointing this out, or else I wouldn't have noticed: http://twitpic.com/5v2jjc/full

    8GB RAM under Snow Leopard was plenty for the various tasks I do, but my RAM seems to be filling up quickly in Lion. Nothing has changed as far as what I do on my computer... weird.

    P.S. What is "Safari Web Content" and why does it take another gigabyte of RAM?
     
  6. BigDrives thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    #6


    I'm running 4 gigs and it never fills up all the way, usually 800 or so mb left. Still though, Safari is using a ridiculously high amount of RAM. Firefox isn't perfect either... :mad:
     
  7. And macrumors 6502

    And

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Location:
    92 ft above sea level, UK
    #7
    I switched to Chrome for this reason. It uses much less memory and is faster.
     
  8. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #8
    Its the rendering engine for Safari. Chrome is just as bad with time.
     
  9. Mr. Gates macrumors 68020

    Mr. Gates

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    --Redmond --------- ----------------Washington---
    #9
    Have you tried Chrome ?

    Safari is ok. It seems to play nicer with other core programs but if your just surfing the web... Well, chrome
     
  10. hehe299792458 macrumors 6502a

    hehe299792458

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    #10
    unused ram is wasted ram
     
  11. adrian1480 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    #11
    Safai with about 50 tabs open spread through 4 windows.

    2.5GB used.

    In FF, the same windows would use about 600MB less, as I recall. Just trying it out since it's been updated...but probably won't use it because it uses more ram than FF or Chrome.
     

Share This Page