Safari with Bing

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by tamvly, Jul 8, 2009.

  1. tamvly macrumors 6502a

    tamvly

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    #1
    Anyone know of a hack to change the main search in Safari from Google to Bing?

    I am curious.
     
  2. illegallydead macrumors 6502a

    illegallydead

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado!!!
    #2
    Hmmm..... very interesting question. I have yet to find any option for that, so not sure that you can...
     
  3. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #3
    I'm not sure if you can, but if you decompile the app and fiddle with the code, you'll be able to change it.

    Or look in the contents.
     
  4. jkimbro0316 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Location:
    Central Florida
    #4
    Yeah, I would love to at least try out bing as my default search engine up in the search bar. Does Apple even have options in the preference menus to let the user change the search engine default?
     
  5. tamvly thread starter macrumors 6502a

    tamvly

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    #6
    Wonderful ... ObjC. Thanks ... figured someone would know.
     
  6. ltldrummerboy macrumors 68000

    ltldrummerboy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    #7
    The latest version of Glims has Bing bundled with it.
     
  7. MacManiac76 macrumors 65816

    MacManiac76

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Location:
    Arizona
    #8
    I didn't wait for them. I just added it as a custom search engine myself when Bing was announced. :p
     
  8. JoelMarcey macrumors 6502

    JoelMarcey

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Northern California
    #9
  9. Ashka macrumors 6502a

    Ashka

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #10
    Why bother when they can't make Bing work correctly on a Mac. Yes I have sent feedback ~ twice.

    Set your language to Australian English and Bing allows you to search the web or Australia only.
    Set your language to British English and you get to search the web or the UK only.
    Didn't bother to try US English ....

    I have No idea why the heck MS would decide which Country you reside in by the Mac Spelling setting.

    I live in New Zealand and set Australian or British English ~ we do not use American spelling. There are no other options.
     

Share This Page