safari wont load pages and gives me blue circle!!!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by harrishimo, May 28, 2009.

  1. harrishimo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    #1
    hey guys.

    just wondering, my safari is refusing to load certain internet poges. The best example i can give is when i try to log into facebook, i click the "log in" button after entering my details and it doesnt load and then gives me the Blue circle underneath the cursor and stays like this until safari is quit.

    ive tried resetting safari and even restarting the macbook but i dont know what can be causing it.

    Any help is much appreciated!!!
     
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    This is caused by Java applets on the offending pages. That blue circle is Java's loading cursor.
     
  3. harrishimo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    #3
    awesome..but...

    how do i stop it...or make my safari load things again???

    thanks for the quick help!!!
     
  4. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #4
    Is your Java turned off in Safari? You may have disabled it due to the recent Java security hole that's been uncovered. It's easy to enable again, though - just open up Safari's preferences and check the Enable Java box in the appropriate tab.
     
  5. harrishimo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
  6. 210 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Location:
    London, England
    #6
    I had this problem yesterday, then it worked fine without me having to do anything. I am inclined to blame Facebook
     
  7. harrishimo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    #7
    i think im gonna have to join you with that. It was working fine yesterday and this morning, then i tried to log in before and it wouldnt work...
     
  8. outpatient8 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    #8
    So...

    This started yesterday after I did the most recent update. It was sporadic at first and I could get around it by clicking on the "login" button instead of just hitting CR.
    Now it just gives me the clue circle no matter what I do. However, it only seems to happen with FB.
    FI can navigate sites like kongregate.com, which is all flash all the time, with no difficulty.

    So, ar we going with FB being the problem?
     
  9. 60400 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    #9
    I had exactly the same problem today. It just got fixed after going to preferences and disabling Java and Javascript. I tried to log in on facebook with both options unchecked and it worked. Then logged out and back to preferences again to enable them again... fixed, or at least that worked for me!

    Good luck!
     
  10. LilRedAngel923 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    #10
    trouble getting into facebook

    Hey, I see I'm not the only one having this issue with facebook, I work on a Mac and since yesterday evening I haven't been able to get on facebook, when I go to login I get a small blue circle under my cursor. Has anyone else figured out how to fix this????
     
  11. socrates35 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    #11
    fixing the blue circle issue

    Apparently with the update that was sent down by Apple, it was causing the problem. The way I fixed it was to go into Safari preferences, under the security tab and uncheck the enable java and java script. Then quit safari completely. Then relaunch the application, and go back in and recheck the java script and enable java. Then test in either Yahoo or Facebook. Then shutdown and and restart the computer and try again, and it should resolve the problem. It did for me so far!
     
  12. volcom883 macrumors regular

    volcom883

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Location:
    istanbul
    #12
    i started having the blue circle issue on facebook. nothing opens!
    When i disable java and javascript the links open however when on they dont. i tried restarting sarafi and computer nothing helps

    anybody?
     

Share This Page